Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love this recipe but it's missing a step. I made this yesterday and my recipe (from a different site) calls for one additional step after it's removed from the oven. I think you'll find it makes a huge difference in the finished product. Topping: Spread each warm pastry with about 1/3 cup of jam or preserves. (Any flavor is fine, but our favorites are raspberry and apricot.) Do this while the almond puff is still warm but not hot from the oven. Then you sprinkle with the toasted almonds and drizzle with the icing. I can't imagine this recipe without this step as it would seem very bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is the same as Kringler (some call it Danish Kringler, some Swedish Kringler). I grew up in a little town with TONS of swedish heritage. This was my favorite thing! As soon as I was an adult, and moved away, I had to hunt down the recipe for kringler, as I love all things almond. =) This is exactly like the recipe that I have. I agree that for the first time it may look a bit complicated, but it really is so easy. For the crust, I just put it all down in a baking pan..I don't do the 2 rectangles. Also, before stirring in the eggs one at a time, I stir the flower/butter mixture a bit to let it cool down a little. (side note, this is not an overly sweet pastry. The pastry itself is a choux pastry, made like a cream puff almost. the sweetness really mostly comes from the icing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
very easy and delicious!!I wasn't sure how these would turn out, the first two layers having no sugar and 3 eggs.They are wonderful!! The only change I made was using almond extract in the glaze instead of vanilla. Will make again! Thanks Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
5 stars plus! This is a really delicious pastry. I used margarine instead of butter as indicated in the body of the recipe. Don't let the lack of sugar scare you. It's perfect. The glaze recipe is missing 1 T of milk to thin it down properly. Add that to the glaze. I sprinkled mine with red and green decorator sprinkles to make it look festive for the holidays. Yummy! My favorite of the Christmas cookie plate this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Soooo Good. Will make again. I took this to my sons school for a bake sale and it was the first thing to sell out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is a favorite of our family, especially around the holidays. It's sweet (but not too sweet) and light without being too much work, and it is a nice change to the regular dessert fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This reminds me of growing up, my mom used to make this all of the time. The wonderful aroma, when it is baking, still brings back fond memories! :) I have made this several times & it is always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyLori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jarrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I add some crushed pineapple to the puff filling layer. It's good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is in my mother's old PTA Cookbook from the 1970's and I've been making it for serveral years now. It's worth making and is amazing if you like a pastry with just a touch of almond sweetness. I use almond extract in the frosting for more almond flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
A friend of mne reluctantly gave me this recipe years ago, saying it was a "secret family recipe." I guess the secret's out! It's more like a cream puff than a kringle, but SO good. It's a nice change from cake and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States