Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I tired this recipe on a whim because I had a craving for an almond dessert. I was not disappointed! I skipped the sliced almonds at the end in favour of almond extract in the icing. This is a not overly sweet dessert and something I will be adding to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Nothing like the pic my pastry could not be seen and super thin, how much filling was to be layered on? one inch or two also had lots of filling left over a waste of my eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this recipe years ago and then lost it. There's an ingredient missing from the glaze (I finally found my original recipe from a 40-year-old Betty Crocker Cookbook). The original recipe calls for 1-2 tbsp. warm water. Other than that, it's the same. I only gave it 3 stars because of the missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My mother-in-law showed me how to make this. She called it Kris Kringle Koffee Kake (sic) I've looked high and low for this recipe but nobody else calls it that. I found it by accident, looking for cream puffs. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was pretty good. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was a big disappointment. I have made Almond Puff years ago but misplaced the recipe. I am hosting a ladies coffee tomorrow and thought this would be a hit. Now, I am embarrassed to serve it. A crisp cookie that looks nothing like the photo. I followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years (more than I want to think about) and it continues to be one of my husband's favorite and always well loved any where I take it. Delicious just the way the recipe tells you to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Was so excited to make this. I love almonds but having not any sweetness to the pastry was bland. I couldn't add enough sweetness to the top to balance, even added raspberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Novak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made this as directed except for the glaze (I forgot to add the melted butter & subbed almond extract for the vanilla). It's quite good but where the puff part is thin around the edges it tastes very pie-crusty. I think I would prefer the puff part on something more like a sweet roll dough. I read many reviews that mentioned a jam layer but didn't want to alter the recipe that much since I hadn't tried the recipe previously. The 1st time I ate it, I had it plain & it was good. The second time I ate it I spread some Polaner cherry preserves over the glaze & sliced almonds. That made it VERY good though I would still prefer something a little less pie-crusty with lower calories, fat & cholesterol so that I can have it more often! Incredibly easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It looked great when it was done, but it needed some sugar in the pastry part. It was like eating pie crust to me. I did add some preserves on the top to try to sweeten it up, but it didn't do the trick. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States