Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is a favorite of our family, especially around the holidays. It's sweet (but not too sweet) and light without being too much work, and it is a nice change to the regular dessert fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Soooo Good. Will make again. I took this to my sons school for a bake sale and it was the first thing to sell out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
very easy and delicious!!I wasn't sure how these would turn out, the first two layers having no sugar and 3 eggs.They are wonderful!! The only change I made was using almond extract in the glaze instead of vanilla. Will make again! Thanks Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
5 stars plus! This is a really delicious pastry. I used margarine instead of butter as indicated in the body of the recipe. Don't let the lack of sugar scare you. It's perfect. The glaze recipe is missing 1 T of milk to thin it down properly. Add that to the glaze. I sprinkled mine with red and green decorator sprinkles to make it look festive for the holidays. Yummy! My favorite of the Christmas cookie plate this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
The top never really browned, but I made this for someone who likes marzipan and they loved it! Used almond extract in glaze instead of vanilla to keep with the almond theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was ok but not great. I took it to a cookie exchange and it was the last thing to go. The almond puff filling portion had kind of a wierd texture/consistency. I wont make it again but i would tell anyone considering making it to add a little sugar to the filling part.. i think this might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These rock... Everyone always loves them. I love almond flavoring. If you don't care much for it, I doubt you'd like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I add some crushed pineapple to the puff filling layer. It's good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've used this recipe (or one just like it) for twenty years. I have yet to serve this - either at home or a party - that's it's not completely gone in minutes. It sounds complicated, but once you've made it, you'll realize how easy it is! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
My Mom used to make this and I had lost the recipe, so was happy to find it here. She used almond extract in the glaze and chopped walnuts instead of almonds on top, but I think almonds carries the theme better. They are wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States