Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made this as directed except for the glaze (I forgot to add the melted butter & subbed almond extract for the vanilla). It's quite good but where the puff part is thin around the edges it tastes very pie-crusty. I think I would prefer the puff part on something more like a sweet roll dough. I read many reviews that mentioned a jam layer but didn't want to alter the recipe that much since I hadn't tried the recipe previously. The 1st time I ate it, I had it plain & it was good. The second time I ate it I spread some Polaner cherry preserves over the glaze & sliced almonds. That made it VERY good though I would still prefer something a little less pie-crusty with lower calories, fat & cholesterol so that I can have it more often! Incredibly easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It looked great when it was done, but it needed some sugar in the pastry part. It was like eating pie crust to me. I did add some preserves on the top to try to sweeten it up, but it didn't do the trick. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This makes a great brunch item but is good anytime. Excellent with coffee or tea. It is an old favorite that is just slightly elegant and wonderfully different from the usual fare. I have been asked for the recipe many times. It is only good for a day but there have never been any leftovers anyway so not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is in my mother's old PTA Cookbook from the 1970's and I've been making it for serveral years now. It's worth making and is amazing if you like a pastry with just a touch of almond sweetness. I use almond extract in the frosting for more almond flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
A friend of mne reluctantly gave me this recipe years ago, saying it was a "secret family recipe." I guess the secret's out! It's more like a cream puff than a kringle, but SO good. It's a nice change from cake and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love this recipe but it's missing a step. I made this yesterday and my recipe (from a different site) calls for one additional step after it's removed from the oven. I think you'll find it makes a huge difference in the finished product. Topping: Spread each warm pastry with about 1/3 cup of jam or preserves. (Any flavor is fine, but our favorites are raspberry and apricot.) Do this while the almond puff is still warm but not hot from the oven. Then you sprinkle with the toasted almonds and drizzle with the icing. I can't imagine this recipe without this step as it would seem very bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is good tasting but kind of bland like it's missing something. Have checked many recipes for this and all are exactly the same. Does it need maybe salt to bring out the taste and the sweet? Any one else experience this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent! I lost my recipe, so glad I found yours. My recipe didn't have a frosting recipe, it called for a can of white frosting. So if you are feeling lazy or time is an issue... I will try your frosting recipe to see which I like better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4roosters
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I grew up with this recipe. It's great to take for a bake sale instead of the usual cake or brownies. It goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4roosters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This reminds me of growing up, my mom used to make this all of the time. The wonderful aroma, when it is baking, still brings back fond memories! :) I have made this several times & it is always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyLori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jarrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States