Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very pretty and very tasty - everyone loved this cake, especially the delicious marzipan accents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This cake was incredible!!!! Everyone loved the marzipan holly leaves. I even took a picture of it :) I can see this being a holiday tradition for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is an exceptional cake. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. The almond pound cake comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was the perfect end to our Christmas dinner. This cake is moist and tastes GREAT! A new Christmas tradition I have in this simple yet elegant cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very good but maybe a little heavy on the almond extract. 1 1/2 tsps. wopuld be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This cake was delicious! I didn't decorate it, I just made a plain almond cake and topped it with the glaze. I added a little almond and vanilla extract to the glaze. Since I read the review that said the cake was dry, I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream. I cooked it in a silcone bundt pan that I got for Christmas (the first time I used it), so it seemed to cook slower. It needed the full hour but it browned nicely and was moist and delicious. My guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I think my boyfriend ate half of it in one sitting! I didn't have a bundt pan so I used two loaf pans and it turned out fine. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that used almond powder, and I found this; I replaced the almond extract by almond powder (I put a little less flour, about 1/4 cup less, and I put a quite large 1/4 cup of almond powder instead). It's yummy!! My family likes it a lot, but most especially my hubby who, however, doesn't have the biggest sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I haven't done the whole almond paste leaf thing, but this pound cake is usually a success on its own. We like to have it with raspberry compote and whipped cream. I usually add 1/2 a cup of sour cream to make it less dry. I also bake it in 2 9 x 5 loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States