Almond Orange Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This cake turned out really nice. I've made it 3 times now, and found that a little cinnamon and 1/2 cup of buttermilk added a lot of flavor and moisture. This one is a keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika55734

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was an exceptional coffee cake. This recipe will be added to make it often list. The only change I did was to use only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, otherwise I followed it exactly. It is wonderful with the glaze. It IS a sweet coffee cake but then that's the way coffee cake should be. Right? I found that I had to bake it for 40 minutes, but everyone's oven is different. I added some orage zest to the glaze too. Love this recipe. For you doubters out there...try it, you'll like it!!! I guarantee you'll get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
First time making this cake today, and it's a wonderful cake to serve with coffee or tea. A definate make again cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ros

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
After reading may reviews, I decided to add in some orange yogurt to combat some of the dryness that was an issue. I also added in some orange extract to up the orange flavor. Even after those additions, it wasn't very "orangy". Best eaten warm from the oven, as it tends to dry out quickly. Not one I'm likely to re-do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i tried out the recipe tdy..it came out perfectly well..it is one of the tastiest cakes!! i had to use almost 1 cup of orange juice to make the batter loose enough..as well, to save time i chopped the almonds instead of slicing.. i baked it for abt 50 mnts...did not use any glaze ...the cake as such is sweet enough.... super yummy crunchy cake!! frnds, pls do try it out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mini Binoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I found this to be coarse and dry. I did increase the baking time slightly due to previous review. Also, I found it to be a bit bland (and I even increased the orange peel). I think basically a good flavor combination and I haven't given up on it - next time I will add a bit of sour cream, maybe some orange extract to pop the flavor a bit. I was disappointed in the recipe as written, which is rare for this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I was surprised when I read the review about how awful this coffeecake was as I have made it on many, many occasions and it has always turned out wonderful. It has a little coarser texture rather than cake like, but that's how a coffeecake should be. I have also made this into mini bundt cakes and they have been wonderful. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
What a great coffee cake! I was afraid it would be too sweet with all the brown sugar in the streusel and the powdered sugar glaze, but it was perfect. I didn't have an orange to zest, so I stirred in a can of drained mandarin oranges for added flavor and moisture. Finally, I sprinkled toasted almonds over the top of the glazed cake for a pretty presentation. I'd definitely make this cake again - it's a perfect addition to any brunch table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I was not sure if I should attempt this recipe due to low ratings, but it looked like the kind I like, with no box ingredients etc. I made it for my co-workers and it was a tremendous hit. I thought it was excellent myself. Not too much work, and a very nice orange flavor that I often don't bake with. I got one complement that it was the best cake a girl had ever had. So, I recommend trying it. I am actually going to bake it again for another group of friends very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I thought this was delicious! Based on the previous comments, I baked this cake for longer (40-45 mins) and used less streusel for the middle layer. I really like the orange flavor of the cake. It's pretty sweet, so I would even leave off the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States