Almond Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Not sure where I went wrong but no one, including myself, thought they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Sorry but the taste and texture of these cookies were not worth the price of the ingredients. Not one of the kids cared for these either and they'll usually eat anything sweet. I made them exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
The lemon zest makes this recipe so I doubled it the second time that I made them. I omitted the cinnamon as an other reviewer suggested. In stead of dropping by spoonful, I used my spritz gun. I sprinkled the unbaked cookies with yellow sugar and baked 8 minutes since the cookies were thin. Then drizzled with melted chocolate and sprinkled with chopped almonds! Yum! Important: do not over bake! Nothing worse that burnt meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
KC Star - Heat oven to 200. Line 10x15 baking sheet with parchment paper. Whisk 1 cup egg whites for 1-2 minutes with electric mixer to form soft peaks. With mixer running add 1 cup granulated ugar in 3 parts waiting 20 seconds between addition. Using a rubber spatula, fold in 1 cup confectioner's sugar and 1/2 tsp. salt. Fold in 1 cup toasted sliced almonds. Using slotted spoon scoop out large oval shaped mounds of meringue and place on backng sheet. Sprinkle meringue with remaining almonds. Bake 2 hours. Turn off oven. Leave clouds to dry overnight in the oven. Remove clouds and store in an airtight container up to 23 days. It is best to make these on a dry not a humid day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Yes this is traditional German cookie and we called them Zimmstern (Cinnamon Stars) They are light and delicious and the combination of almond and citrus taste is nice. Nice texture contrast as the meringue is crunchy and the cookie is a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
these cookies are over the top delish! just the smell of the batter before baking sent me into cookie heaven! the only thing i can't figure out is where the star shape in the photo comes in? next time i need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
So I made these for my cooking class when we did Germany and my teacher was in awe. He couldn't believe that their was no flower or baking soda or anything in them besides the few ingredients. Thanks so much for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I love these! I used vanilla extract instead of lemon zest, soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaOpal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good and predictable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
In german these are called Nuss Stangel..these are also made with hazelnuts. My grandmother added the zest to the nut mixture instead of the meringe and a bit of lemon juice (no cinnamon) to the meringe for a more lemony taste. They are my favorite xmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States