Almond Maple Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very good granola! My mom made some for Xmas this pasy year (different recipe)and put them in decorated jars and gave as gifts! The jars leftover, she gave to me, which I used for breakfast (with a little milk...hmmm good). Having run out and wanting more, I found this recipe. I used less coconut and in addition to the REAL maple syrup, I added a couple TBLS of honey. I also assume that the submitted had intended for almonds to be in the ingrediant list so I just added 1/4c almonds, and then another 1/3c of a halved pecan/walnut mix. Like another reviewer before me - to ensure that this doesn't burn, stir every 8-10 minutes!! When I pulled out of the oven, I added raisins, crasins, and some dried pineapple. GREAT granola! Very versatile to add what nuts and fruits you want and we are very pleased with the result! Mom = this recipe is almost as good as yours!! Thanks Jennifer for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fabulous granola! The changes I made were to use sliced almonds rather than slivered, used only 1/2 the coconut, subbed hazelnuts and walnuts for the sunflower seeds, used light brown rather than dark brown sugar, added vanilla, pumpkie pie spice, and cinnamon, and omitted the raisins. The granola is plenty sweet. Next time, I may try a little less sugar. I layered this granola with a pumpkin cream filling for pumpkin parfaits (divine!), served with soymilk for cereal, and ate all by itself, of course. I did bake it at the recommended 250 F for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring every 15 minutes or so. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I made 1/2 the recipe and used 1 c chopped almonds, which I think was a bit too much, so next time i'll use 3/4 cup. I ommited the coconut and the sunflower seeds because i didn't have any, and also used less oil. Overall, I think it was yummy; sweet, crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This recipe turned out wonderfully for me, though I am still wondering where the almonds are! We toasted in the oven for 45 minutes then stirred gently and returned to oven for another 25 minutes, so not quite as long as recipe recommended. I used only 1/2 a package of coconut in the mix and after toasting added 1/3 cup dried and sweetened cranberries and 1/3 cup of dried banana slices. My daughter is now addicted to this stuff and we plan to try many variations by adding different dried fruit .... next week is tropical granola with dried pineapple and papaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I love coconut so I loved this recipe. If you don't love coconut you might want to cut back on the amount in this recipe. I did add 1/2 cup of slivered almonds since they weren't in the recipe list. This is great granola and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL FRANCES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Excellent granola!! I couldn't get it to squeeze into bigger clumps (I think I overdid the small ingredients, like wheat germ and sesame seeds) but the taste was wonderfully crunchy and just sweet enough. I mixed every 10-15 minutes and didn't notice any burning. Excellent with cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Very good! Addicting! I didn't put as much coconut in and added 1/2 cup sliced almonds and it was delicioso! I would reccomend it to anyone unless they like chunky granola as I could not get it to stay in chunks at all, but that didn't detract from the excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is terribly addicting stuff. I added wheat germ and flax seed as well. I've also doubled it. I just can't get enough of this recipe. And it lasts for quite a while. I didn't have the burning problem but I stirred about every 15 minutes or so. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I had to hide this in order to stop eating it warm from the oven!!! Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Leaming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
i love this granola! i use half the amount of coconut called for, add some vanilla to the maple syrup mixture and instead of almonds, i use about 3/4 cup of walnuts. REALLY tasty! i usually enjoy some over vanilla yogurt with fresh fruit on the side. mmmmmmm!!! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States