Almond Maple Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've been combing the stores for low sugar granola to no avail. So I decided to make my own. Using this recipe as my base (it's wonderful), I substituted as follows: Omitted the coconut cause I'm not a fan and added whole almonds Used sugar-free maple syrup Substituted Splenda brown sugar blend I love this! I sprinkle it on my yogurt for breakfast every day and on my ice cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was good. I doubled the recipe and it made exactly six quart jars full which I gave as Christmas gifts. I substituted walnuts for sunflower seeds and added extra raisins plus dried cranberries. The wheat germ didn't really blow my skirt up. I think I'll try something more substantial next time. I also just sloshed some vanilla extract in when mixing. Thanks. Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This granola is so good! I made it with 1 cup of unsweetened coconut, and substituted some flax seeds for the sunflower seeds. I also used only 2 Tbs. of brown sugar, and it was still nice and sweet! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla for extra flavor as well. This granola was so crunchy, and it had a really yummy flavor! I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Made as is, and it WAS good - but no one seemed to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Mmmm this is very good granola! Because I'd never made granola prior to trying this recipe, I tried to approach this cautiously, based largely on various suggestions that other users made: I reduced the coconut to 7 oz., used whole almonds (raw and unsalted) rather than slivered almonds, replaced the wheat germ with ground flax seed, reduced the oil by half, added a tsp vanilla extract, added a dash of cinnamon, and omitted the raisins. I also used two baking sheets and tried to stir the mixture every 15 minutes or so. Definitely check it at intervals, as I found out quickly that it's important to check it every so often, because it begins to darken more rapidly after around the first 25 minutes; I actually only ended cooking the entire thing for maybe 40-45 minutes. Anyway, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was my first experience making granola, IT was great, I did add more pecans and walnuts and used sliced almonds. I also took someone elses advice and cut back on brown sugar to half the amt.and half amt. of coconut. I did add some cinnamon and vanilla. It was yummie .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I liked this recipe but wanted to make it a bit plainer and eat it just with milk as my morning cereal. I eliminated the seeds, wheat germ, coconut and raisins (don't like them - sorry!) and used only 3 tbsp of brown sugar. I didn't even blanch the almonds - just threw them right in. I baked at 350 degrees for an hour, turning every 15 minutes. I make this once a week and I love it. Thanks for the base recipe. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Yum! Using suggestions, I used less coconut and honey instead of maple syrup. I spread the granola out on two trays, and watched it carefully so I wouldn't overcook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Love it! I add a few drop of maple extract to add more oomph to the maple flavour without adding more syrup. I use about 1/4 cup of maple syrup when I double up the recipe and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I find that's still plenty sweet for me! My favorite granola recipe ever! Love experimenting with adding different nuts, seeds and fruit to the mix. This never ever lasts long in my house, I made a batch yesterday and I already have to think about making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmarieann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was really good. I made it exactly as it said. I think next time though, I will put in less coconut and more oatmeal and nuts. As someone else suggested, I used flaxseed and it turned out really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States