Almond Maple Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Absolutely great. I used some different nuts and removed the coconut (I hate the stuff). It was absolutely awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
DELICIOUS granola. I will never go back to store bought! This recipe was so easy to make too! I substituted flax seed for the wheat germ, and added in 1 Tbsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla extract. I also just baked craisins in with the the granola (by accident), but they turned out just fine this way, maybe just a little chewier. I also chopped my almonds rather than using pre sliced almonds, the small chunks add a good crunch. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I make this recipe all the time and it is wonderful. I change it up by using sweetened dried cranberries or cherries. I made a batch last night with the cherries and banana chips. It was wonderful. I cut down on the coconut to just one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Terrific recipe. I haven't made my own before but I intend to from now on. The taste was very good. I used only 1 cup of flaked coconut, added some chopped pecans for additional crunchiness and used regular raisins, craisins and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This. Was. Amazing! It was my first ever attempt at making granola and I'm so glad I did! I'll never go back to the lifeless box stuff again! I followed the recipe more or less as printed. I used less coconut, as I only had half a bag anyway (This is a great recipe for using up those leftover nuts, seeds and coconut!) and I substituted pecans for the sunflower seeds. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and some cinnamon to the wet ingredients. Like other reviewers have noted, it is a bit sweet, so I will most likely adjust the next batch, but it's really awesome as a yogurt mix in. I'm also going to experiment with cutting the recipe with corn or bran flakes to make my own breakfast cereal since DH burns through cereal like there's going to be an embargo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalthea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I have been making this granola for a few years now. My kids LOVE it. I ALWAYS halve the amount of flaked coconut. TIP #1: If you don't happen to have sunflower seeds or wheatgerm on hand (I never seem to), don't freak out because seriously...it's great without it. PLUS it simpler to make and cheaper that way too. I always double the recipe & put a mixture of corsely chopped almonds (& sometimes hazelnuts) to "my half" (since my kids don't like nuts). ***TIP #2: I NEVER finger clump the mixture before baking...it doesn't really work that well anyway. I INSTEAD just press the mixture down in the pan with my nands so the whole thing is clumped together!! During the time when you're supposed to turn the mixture over (during baking half-time) I take a spatula & just flip over the "sheet of granola" in sections. It breaks up on it's own pretty easily and even if there are large chunks at the end of the baking process, oh well...they are easily broken up into smaller pieces if desired ;-) EVEN BETTER: Store in one of those tupperware-type cereal containers and the big pieces will just break up on their own eventually when you shake out the granola. **SIDE NOTE: My friend goes on & on about flax seeds and how good they are for you. She stayed with me & left a container. I put some in my coffee grinder & used a 1/4 cup in my DOUBLE batch instead of the wheat germ (that I never have anyway!!!!)I can't tell a difference in the taste. So if you're into flax...... :-) Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is so good! Thanks so much, didn't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stormville, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My family loves this granola. When I make it, I make a double batch, doubling everything except the coconut. I also use whole almonds (chopped), walnuts, and sunflower seeds. For the dried fruit, we like dried cranberries and dried blueberries added to the raisins. I use unsweetened applesauce in exchange for the oil and have no problems at all with the substitution. I bake mine in batches in a thin layer on a cookie sheet for about 30 minutes at 350, keeping an eye on it during the last 10 minutes or so. Once you start eating this, it's hard to stop. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was the best! My husband wanted granola but the prices in the grocery store were ridiculous. I used 1/2 coconut, 2 tbsp splenda brown sugar and added 1/4 flax seeds. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've been combing the stores for low sugar granola to no avail. So I decided to make my own. Using this recipe as my base (it's wonderful), I substituted as follows: Omitted the coconut cause I'm not a fan and added whole almonds Used sugar-free maple syrup Substituted Splenda brown sugar blend I love this! I sprinkle it on my yogurt for breakfast every day and on my ice cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States