Almond Maple Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I followed the recipe to the letter and while it's very good, I'm only giving it 4 stars because it's more toasted coconut than granola. It doesn't clump like traditional granola either. It did, however, taste very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
My only criticism is I couldn't get it to clump at all. Perhaps because I used apple butter instead of oil. I added some dark corn syrup but that didn't help much. Next time I will bake in a thin layer - I only had a cake pan, but it was too thick and took longer to bake. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is so yummy! I made a few changes: used apple butter instead of oil, only used 1/2 the coconut, and left out the almonds, replaced with walnuts (was out of almonds.) I had this for breakfast with skim milk, and it was absolutely delicious! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I used walnuts and dessicated coconut as that is what I had in the pantry and dried apricots instead of raisins. I didn't bother with the wheatgerm as cooking destroys the nutritional value of it.If you wanted to, you could add the raw wheatgerm at serving time.It was tasty and I will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Here's what I did to this fabulous recipe and it still was delicious! I chopped whole almonds instead of using slivered. I used only about 4 oz of coconut, for the texture. I used light brown instead of dark brown sugar. I followed another review's recommendation and used apple butter instead of vegetable oil. This recipe is delicious, and it will make your home smell like you've been baking all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe. I have made it a couple times and it will become a staple in our house. If you want it a little clumpier, try adding a small amount of honey. And Sunmaid's FruitBits are a good substitute if you want more than raisins (amall pieces of apricots, apples, peaches, cherries, raisins, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is so good I can't keep my hands off of it. It's delicious in yogurt or on ice cream or just as breakfast (or in my case, lunch or supper). The only thing I changed was that instead of oil, I substituted apple butter like another reviewer suggested, and added some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Made a few changes to suit our taste and it was wonderful. I didn't like making granola with oil so I substituted apple butter. Worked wonderfully with a flavor that enhanced the nuts and brown sugar. Only added 1/2 of the coconut and that was plenty. I had walnuts, but I'm going to use pecans next time. I did NOT add raisins to the mix as they would get hard - preferred to put them on when we ate it but the recipe really didn't need more. This needs stirred every 15 min. Stayed crisp and crunchy in milk. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This is the best tasting granola I have ever had. It beats any store bought granola too. The only change I made was to add an extra tablespoon each of the pure maple syrup and the brown sugar. Be sure to use REAL maple syrup. This is definitely a keeper. Great on yogurt, on top of oatmeal, ice cream topper or just to munch on. One suggestion is to try to clump the granola up with your hands otherwise, it's pretty loose granola, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fabulous granola! The changes I made were to use sliced almonds rather than slivered, used only 1/2 the coconut, subbed hazelnuts and walnuts for the sunflower seeds, used light brown rather than dark brown sugar, added vanilla, pumpkie pie spice, and cinnamon, and omitted the raisins. The granola is plenty sweet. Next time, I may try a little less sugar. I layered this granola with a pumpkin cream filling for pumpkin parfaits (divine!), served with soymilk for cereal, and ate all by itself, of course. I did bake it at the recommended 250 F for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring every 15 minutes or so. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States