Almond Maple Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I used walnuts and dessicated coconut as that is what I had in the pantry and dried apricots instead of raisins. I didn't bother with the wheatgerm as cooking destroys the nutritional value of it.If you wanted to, you could add the raw wheatgerm at serving time.It was tasty and I will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Here's what I did to this fabulous recipe and it still was delicious! I chopped whole almonds instead of using slivered. I used only about 4 oz of coconut, for the texture. I used light brown instead of dark brown sugar. I followed another review's recommendation and used apple butter instead of vegetable oil. This recipe is delicious, and it will make your home smell like you've been baking all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe. I have made it a couple times and it will become a staple in our house. If you want it a little clumpier, try adding a small amount of honey. And Sunmaid's FruitBits are a good substitute if you want more than raisins (amall pieces of apricots, apples, peaches, cherries, raisins, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is so good I can't keep my hands off of it. It's delicious in yogurt or on ice cream or just as breakfast (or in my case, lunch or supper). The only thing I changed was that instead of oil, I substituted apple butter like another reviewer suggested, and added some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Made a few changes to suit our taste and it was wonderful. I didn't like making granola with oil so I substituted apple butter. Worked wonderfully with a flavor that enhanced the nuts and brown sugar. Only added 1/2 of the coconut and that was plenty. I had walnuts, but I'm going to use pecans next time. I did NOT add raisins to the mix as they would get hard - preferred to put them on when we ate it but the recipe really didn't need more. This needs stirred every 15 min. Stayed crisp and crunchy in milk. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This is the best tasting granola I have ever had. It beats any store bought granola too. The only change I made was to add an extra tablespoon each of the pure maple syrup and the brown sugar. Be sure to use REAL maple syrup. This is definitely a keeper. Great on yogurt, on top of oatmeal, ice cream topper or just to munch on. One suggestion is to try to clump the granola up with your hands otherwise, it's pretty loose granola, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fabulous granola! The changes I made were to use sliced almonds rather than slivered, used only 1/2 the coconut, subbed hazelnuts and walnuts for the sunflower seeds, used light brown rather than dark brown sugar, added vanilla, pumpkie pie spice, and cinnamon, and omitted the raisins. The granola is plenty sweet. Next time, I may try a little less sugar. I layered this granola with a pumpkin cream filling for pumpkin parfaits (divine!), served with soymilk for cereal, and ate all by itself, of course. I did bake it at the recommended 250 F for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring every 15 minutes or so. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
i love this granola! i use half the amount of coconut called for, add some vanilla to the maple syrup mixture and instead of almonds, i use about 3/4 cup of walnuts. REALLY tasty! i usually enjoy some over vanilla yogurt with fresh fruit on the side. mmmmmmm!!! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I had to hide this in order to stop eating it warm from the oven!!! Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I only had a 7 oz package of coconut so I used that and added about 6 oz of dried fruit (apricots, craisins, cherries and golden raisins). I only had 1/2 a cup of real maple syrup so I made up the rest with regular syrup and used closer to 3/4 a cup of brown sugar since I like my granola more on the sweeter side. I also added a large spoonful of apricot preserves and some vanilla extract to the syrup mixture and heated it in the microwave for about 2 minutes so it would mix in evenly. I served this over yogurt and enjoyed it very much. Thanks Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States