Almond Maple Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
used sweetened coconut instead of plain on accident. used oat bran instead of wheat germ. Mixed this granola (about 1 cup) with 8 oz plain fat free yougurt and about 1/2 cup of thawed stawberries, cut up. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
UPDATE: I've made this many times now and always omit the brown sugar and it's sweet enough for me; I omit the raisins too. 11/03/06: I've been making my own granola for years, but decided to try this on the recommendation of a friend. This is a wonderful granola! I used light brown sugar, canola oil, real Canadian maple syrup, 1c kosher coconut (it's natural, unsweetened, & tastes closer to fresh), & in addition to the slivered almonds, I added a cup of whole almonds. Love almonds! Sometimes also used golden raisins; they seem to be softer, stay fresh longer. Thanks so much, Jennifer, for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This is a good recipe and can be easily made with organic ingredients without doing culinary summersaults. I've made it more than once with good results whether "by the book" or changing it slightly. Adding vanilla gives it a nice flavor. Doubling it takes it a bit longer in the oven, but will give the "clumps" that some enjoy. This can easily become "gourmet" muselix by adding rice crispies, corn flakes & bran flakes (which can all be found easily in organic stores) along with the raisins after baking. It tastes very much like the expensive stuff but at half the cost. Kids enjoy it, hubby liked it once I dropped the sunflower seeds, and our dog waits for the crumbs to fall. An added joy: my 2- and 4-year-olds enjoy helping mix the dry ingredients with their hands at the kitchen table - all those different textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I thought that this was a great granola.....better than most store bought kinds. I used sliced almonds and light brown sugar, as well as dried cranberries in addition to the rasins and I cut back on the coconut too. I kept everything else the same. Next time I will try it with applebutter in place of the oil. I had never made granola before, thanks What A Dish for the recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
What great granola! I, too, thought that a whole package of coconut would be way too much, so I put in less than half. I also just used whole almonds that I roughly chopped. Used light brown sugar too. Omitted the raisins. I used grapeseed oil. This was a pretty sweet granola, so I may cut back a little on the sugar next time. I decided to put it on two cookie sheets after about 30 minutes in the oven. I believe this helped it crisp up and brown just right. This is so much better than anything store bought! It's really good with fresh berries and vanilla yogurt. I would like to try making with apple butter like some other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
So tasty! My family loves it! I only used about a cup of coconut rather than the recommended amount (which would have been waaayy too much). I left out the raisins and sunflower seeds. This didn't clump up but stays crispy in milk. A+++ Update 2/2009: I now add in some rice krispies in place of some of the nuts for a "lighter" version and this is still fantastic cereal : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This was my first try at granola and with a few modifications, I'll keep making it! I used 1/2 pkg coconut. I toasted sliced almonds, added walnuts and pecans. I also added flax seed. I used apple butter instead of oil. Next time I will reduce the amount of brown sugar or at least use light brown sugar instead of dark. Oh yes, I added dried cranberries. I like my fruit a bit chewy so I added the dried fruit at the beginning. This recipe is very forgiving of changes. Thanks for the recipe and for all the other suggestions of the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This granola was excellent-but I did/will change a couple of things. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut down on the coconut-I used 1 cup and it was fine. The whole bag would have been way too much! I also found it to be too sweet for my taste, so will cut down on the brown sugar a bit next time. I also like my nuts a little more toasted in my granola, and the almonds just didn't toast in this, so next time I will toast them a lightly first. I also added a little bit of ground flaxseed meal to this near the end. Also, there is absolutely no issue with burning with the oven set on the directed temperature of 250 degrees-as a matter of fact, at that temperature and stirring every 15 minutes, I had to cook mine an extra 30 minutes to get the granola crisp enough to our liking! All in all, a great recipe! Love that maple flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This is very addictive recipe, maybe not the one that will help you lose weight. I would say there is at least 16 servings with this as it is so filling..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I didn't use almonds. I used peanuts instead because my husband loves those. I was impressed with how tastey this granola is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States