Almond Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I used chicken thighs in the crockpot. Used almond butter instead of the nuts, siracha sauce instead of red pepper flakes. skipped the butter. the house smelled heavenly when i got home from work. thanks for the post Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a long-standing family favorite. I use apricot preserves instead of marmalade, and make the sauce a little thicker so it will stick to pasta. I also toast the almonds in my toaster oven with no oil, they come out less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made this for a couple of friends and my husband and despite everyone's varied tastes everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great recipe. I made a couple changes, I reduced the olive oil and the chicken broth. Since I was only cooking for myself I didn't need quite as much sauce. I also skipped the cornstarch, the sauce was thick enough for my liking without it. When it comes to toasting nuts I never use oil. I toasted silvered almonds dry on a nonstick pan, this method has always worked great for me. I also made some minor tweaks to method; after browning the chicken I used the chicken broth to deglaze the pan then added the marinade instead of the other way around which worked really well. I cooked that down for a few minutes then added kumquat marmalade instead of orange since that's what I had in the pantry. Next time I'll use a little less, it was a tad sweeter than I expected. My final change was adding the toasted almonds in with the parsley and red pepper flakes so they would flavor the sauce. This will definitely be added to my rotation, a unique chicken dish using things already in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
A very delightful and flavourful dish! I was surprised at how tasty this turned out! I halved the recipe using 8 chicken tenderloins instead, used tapioca starch and omitted the butter (didn't need it). great recipe. will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Full-bodied and flavorful. I love lemon but I found this a little overpowering; next time I'd cut the lemon a bit. To make this healthier, cut the oil to 2 T. - one in the marinade, and one for the searing, and cut the butter entirely. You can cut the almonds in half by toasting them - the increased flavor from the roasting will make up for the missing quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
not very lemony, not what I expected. A lot of work and it wasnt really worth it :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliRoc
Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was incredible!! The sauce was so good I could've eaten it without the chicken. I used boneless chicken breasts instead and just kept them covered while I made the sauce. At first the sauce didn't seem to be getting thicker so I just added another tsp of cornstarch and mixed it with the sauce. Very tasty and easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
We loved this recipe, I used ground mustard instead of dijon and also changed the orange marmalade for agave nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States