Almond Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a long-standing family favorite. I use apricot preserves instead of marmalade, and make the sauce a little thicker so it will stick to pasta. I also toast the almonds in my toaster oven with no oil, they come out less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made this for a couple of friends and my husband and despite everyone's varied tastes everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great recipe. I made a couple changes, I reduced the olive oil and the chicken broth. Since I was only cooking for myself I didn't need quite as much sauce. I also skipped the cornstarch, the sauce was thick enough for my liking without it. When it comes to toasting nuts I never use oil. I toasted silvered almonds dry on a nonstick pan, this method has always worked great for me. I also made some minor tweaks to method; after browning the chicken I used the chicken broth to deglaze the pan then added the marinade instead of the other way around which worked really well. I cooked that down for a few minutes then added kumquat marmalade instead of orange since that's what I had in the pantry. Next time I'll use a little less, it was a tad sweeter than I expected. My final change was adding the toasted almonds in with the parsley and red pepper flakes so they would flavor the sauce. This will definitely be added to my rotation, a unique chicken dish using things already in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
A very delightful and flavourful dish! I was surprised at how tasty this turned out! I halved the recipe using 8 chicken tenderloins instead, used tapioca starch and omitted the butter (didn't need it). great recipe. will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Full-bodied and flavorful. I love lemon but I found this a little overpowering; next time I'd cut the lemon a bit. To make this healthier, cut the oil to 2 T. - one in the marinade, and one for the searing, and cut the butter entirely. You can cut the almonds in half by toasting them - the increased flavor from the roasting will make up for the missing quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
not very lemony, not what I expected. A lot of work and it wasnt really worth it :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliRoc
Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was incredible!! The sauce was so good I could've eaten it without the chicken. I used boneless chicken breasts instead and just kept them covered while I made the sauce. At first the sauce didn't seem to be getting thicker so I just added another tsp of cornstarch and mixed it with the sauce. Very tasty and easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
We loved this recipe, I used ground mustard instead of dijon and also changed the orange marmalade for agave nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! My mom used to make this recipe (which she got from the Chicago Tribune) and I loved it back then. I change absolutely nothing except that sometimes, depending on how big the chicken breasts are, I might only add 4. The red pepper flakes add a nice little kick to it. And a tip, the sauce tastes even better the second day, even cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States