Almond Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2000
This is a wonderful and unique recipe. It is a little high in fat for our taste so I modified the recipe and it is better than ever. Reduce the olive oil to 1 to 3 tbsps. Use a "no stick" spray for both the almonds and the chicken when browning. Omit the butter altogether and increase the cornstarch to a tbsp and the marmelade to 4 tbsp. Delicious AND Healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was very good. It made about 1 1/2 c sauce that went great mixed in rice. The lemon was not strong(marinated for 1 hour). I thought the amount of almonds(1 cup) must be a misprint.? I toasted them, but only used 1/4 c. which was plenty for our tastes. Seems like I dirtied more dishes (measuring cups,spoons, pan etc.) than neccesary,too. I will try to re-use things,next time. Next time, I will use some of the juiced lemons ZEST also, a little white wine, some low-sodium boullion , AND LESS OIL. It was very oily and I don't think it was necesary to use that much. I cut the chicken breasts into strips instead of leaving them whole. It was much FASTER cooking that way and the marinade flavor was almost all through the chicken better. With changes, this might be a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I thought this dish was very delicious...I've made several lemon chicken recipes before, but never one with orange marmalade and red pepper, which really made everything tastier. I used less olive oil than called for (probably just 2 tablespoons), and skipped the butter altogher. Serve with steamed broccoli and brown or wild rice for a delicious, balanced meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Incredible flavor! Skipped the corn starch and butter because it's unnecessary. Also used half of the oil and didn't miss it. Doubled the marmalade. One word of caution: when adding the chicken to the skillet at the end, be sure to turn the temp down to medium or medium low and cover to avoid burning and to let the flavor simmer into the meat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe. My variation was to cut the chicken into strips and serve it over jasmine rice and green onion as the garnish. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
VERY good! I didn't have marmalade so I used orange juice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This is quite possibly the most enjoyable way I have ever eaten chicken. This recipe is SO GOOD! And it's not difficult! I could NOT stop raving about it with each bite. I followed the recipe to a T, but I like the low fat suggestions given in one of the other reviews...I am definitely going to be making this dish a regular part of my recipe repertoire...lemony, spicy, tangy - the best flavors really come together in this meal. We had it with couscous on the side which paired very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This is a new family favorite. There were no leftovers. My picky kid even tried it and liked it. This website is making my husband think I'm a GENIUS in the kitchen..... thanks for the great recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Overall, I liked this recipe. If I made it again, I would pound the chicken breasts flat first. I might also try leaving out some of the ingredients. One thing I liked about this recipe is that the ingredients are usually one that you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This recipe was great! My husband even said this could be served in a five star restaurant. I even ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning. It makes a lovely presentation. We have three lemon trees so you can be sure this dish will be served often. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States