Almond French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
We just had this very recipe served to my hubby and I at Silverstone Inn (a B&B)in Lancaster,PA. Each slice of bread was cut into 4 pieces, dunked into the liquid, and all four sides of each finger were then rolled in the chopped almonds. It was cooked to perfection - a light golden color and cooked all the way through. It was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was beautiful! Upon his first bite, hubby said "This is the best french toast I've ever had!" and I have to agree with that. I used Challah bread (Challah I from this site) and that enhanced the heavenly-ness of this dish. It was so, so good. I wasn't sure what the baking powder/flour was about, but I did it anyway, and it never really incorporated, but floated to the top in little clumps, so I just skimmed that off and threw it away. I also didn't do anything ahead, or toast the almonds. After putting the bread in the skillet to cook, I sprinkled almonds on the wet side. I only did one side, and it was fine that way. Just made sure I served almond-side up. I also used sliced almonds, which worked very well. Served with pure maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Everyone liked this recipe, I loved it. I did not follow the recipe with the almonds. I just sprinkled them over the top of each serving. I didn't have French bread and used Italian, which worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
The flavor was okay. The almond extract was a nice change. I also didn't soak for an hour, only about 3-4 mins per side. I dusted with cinnamon instead of the sugar. I will probably make some variation of this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Finally, I have found a french toast recipe that doesn't taste soggy! I cooked mine on the stove in an iron skillet and that browned it nicely. My family preferred fewer almonds for next time, and I think I might even add a little sugar to the recipe to sweeten. I made this with sourdough french bread and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Good Flavor. Made without sliced almonds and tasted the almond extract which didn't really matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was incredibly rich, but good! I used a squirt of butter-flavored Pam instead of the oil and butter. Also, I cooked one side of the bread before adding the almonds to the other side - this way I didn't risk burning the almonds. This was great for a treat, but not something I would crave very often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I found my French Toast recipe, very good! I didn't have almonds on hand so I didn't use them. And, I didn't take the time to refrigerate them. They still turned out great! Good french toast flavor. Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The almonds added a nice crunch to the toast. Next time I will press them into the bread until they are flush, so that side will brown evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was soo good. I didn't have thick bread, so I had to use thin bread. It was hard to handle, but still tasted good. I only used butter to cook the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States