Almond French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Love this recipe. I was short on time so we didn't bother soking the bread. We just dipped the bread in just before frying it up. We topped the french toast with berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I had so much fun with this recipe. I used day old hawaiian bread that I cut in half and then into sticks (ala fast food restaurants) the night before. In the morning (midweek)I toasted SLICED almonds while I made up the egg mixture (as I am a fan of almonds but not almond extract and to go with the hawaiian bread, I substituted coconut flavoring), dipped about half of the precut bread and put in a pan in the refrigerator while I went and did my hair and makeup, came back pressed the almonds into the sticks and layed them all at the same time on my new electric family-sized griddle, cooked them about 15 mins @ 300 degrees, dusted them with powdered sugar, handed each family member an individual cup of syrup (available at my local 99 cent store) and off we all went! Delicious, fun and easy. Leftovers heated for 20 seconds in the microwave were terrific the next day, too. Next time, I'm going to try it with toasted coconut! Thanks. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I thought it was restaurant quality. I fried the bread in butter like others on medium/low. I had no problem with burning. I was surprised that the almonds stuck to the bread, I thought they would fly when I turned it. Great recipe, thanks. I served with mixed berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Didn't refridgerate, and still turned out great! Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is much more filling than regular french toast. I found that it was difficult to get the egg mixture to cook before the almonds started to burn. Perhaps my stove runs too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This is an absolutely fabulous recipe and I am not a huge fan of almonds! I used soft french bread and followed the diretions for the most part, except that I did not fry in canola oil, but rather in butter. I think that canola oil can sometimes be tasted in food, and another comment indicated that she had detected the taste of canola oil when making this. I received numerous compliments and requests for the recipe at a brunch. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I found that I didn't need as many almonds as it said for pressing into the toast, but nonetheless-I won't make this only once. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Delicious - made it for a birthday brunch for a group of ladies, together with a desert crepes, and breakfast casserole. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Thank God I tried this before serving for Fathers Day. Definately NOT worth the effort. Almonds added a strange flavor. Use lots of Maple syrup if you try this! I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I don't know what I did wrong, but I could not get this to cook through... I cooked it forever it seems and all I got was too done outside and a still uncooked middle. I will not try this again. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States