Almond French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Haylee
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I was pleased with this recipe overall but had a hard time cooking the toast all the way through without burning the almonds. But my family enjoyed this recipe. I think next time I will cut the toast into "sticks" so that it will cook more evenly through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is th best french toast i have ever eaten! I followed the recipe and the end result was an amazing melt in your mouth, close your eyes, look up to the heavens, sigh in relief, yummy french toast. I used day old challah bread and after cooking it i sprinkled confectioners sugar, cinnamon and honey. Oh happy day! (Also, i didnt have any almonds on hand so i omitted the toasted almonds and almond extract).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amystar79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
My kids liked this recipe. However, make sure you don't cut your french bread slices thicker than 1", cook on medium low and cover with a lid. Some of my bread slices had some soggy middles after cooking. I only used a handful of almonds and let sit for 30 before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I also did not soak for an hour, used half of the almonds and it turned out great. You definitely must toast the almonds first or you'll miss out of the true flavor of this dish. Like the previous reviewer, my flour and baking powder never fully incorporated either but I didn't bother to skim off and all was fine. Be sure to sprinkle with powdered sugar after cooking for a decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
VERY tasty!!! We also didn't refrigerate, but instead placed the toast in the freezer for about 15 minutes. (Who wants to wait another hour!?!) The first time we had about 1/2 of the almonds called for, and really wouldn't like it with anymore than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
One word for this, Yum ! Ok I didn't put this in the fridge first, but that was because I had my lads all standing drooling in my kitchen, so I cooked it straight away and it came out great. This will be made again in our house. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I used sliced almonds. After the first two pieces of toast, we left off the almonds. They were too brown by the time the bread was cooked. If I made this again I would not toast the sliced almonds first. Not a bad recipe but we decided we prefer our french toast without almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Very good. A nice treat to have something different for a change. The leftovers were great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
There is not a restaurant close to my home (or anyhere that I know of)that could serve up french toast as good as this. My family felt like we had just stepped into a quaint little cafe with Rachel Ray. A few changes that I made to the recipe were to...omit the oil, sprinkle nutmeg in the egg mixture too, use Sara Lee (thick sliced) honey wheat bread and dip each bite into some warm maple syrup. Also, because all I had were the whole almonds...I chopped them up in a food processor and then used a collander to shake off the almonds that just chopped down to powder. I wondered if I had heated the almonds first and then chopped them, if they would have chopped better??? I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was wonderful! I used the sliced almond accents since I did not have anything else on hand & regular sliced bread. Next time I will use the loaf ~ thicker slices would be a nice change. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States