Almond Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I made this as a filling for chocolate cake and it wa a HUGE hit. I did use a quarter cup or so of almond paste instead of Amaretto liqueur because it was left over from making an almond cake. I grated the paste to make sure it would mix well. It was wonderful! I also added mayby a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. Very very good. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I used 1/3 cup sugar and tempered the eggs in after the rest of the mixture had come to a boil. Cooked over med-low heat for about an extra minute after tempering the eggs and then added 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp almond extract along with 1 tbs amaretto. Came out really smooth and delicious. The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with scrambled eggs with milk in it. Best to temper those eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dday515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Delicious! I added 1 tsp vanilla extract for a little extra, and doubled the recipe for a three layer 9" cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Not so good. Grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I used 1 T almond extract and 1t. vanilla. It has a little too much extract taste from the almond but I'm using this in some bread pudding so hopefully this will be ok for that. It is a little bland too. I love almond flavored desserts and cookies so a little disappointing. To keep this from clumping, you need to consantantly stir with a whisk. It starts out clumpy but it will stir out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I just made this and loved it, I am a chef and making a cake for a friend that loves almonds. I didn't have the liquor so I used almond extract, I just used a little bit more almond extract, about 1 or 2 teaspoons, and I put in one tbsp of vanilla extract. I would recomment this to anyone, it's super easy and good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Butler Sinclair

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Maybe it was something I did wrong, but it tasted like tapioca pudding to me. I will NEVER use this again. I didn't put this on my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I substituted almond extract for amaretto liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Perfect for my petit fours! Not too heavy of a taste, but just enough! I love the custard texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is good. A the consistency of a thin pudding. Great on chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States