Almond Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Really good flavor but was not thick enough to be used between cake layers. Next time I'll add more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was so delicious I wanted to just sit and eat it with a spoon....I did go by recommendations and did only 1/2 tsp almond extract and then 1/2 tsp vanilla...but that was mainly because I was using it on a white chocolate almond cake w/white chocolate almond frosting and thought I had enough almond already. I also had to improvise because for some reason the grocery store I went to did not have nonfat dry milk. So instead of that I used a 12 can of evaporated milk and eliminated the water. I did have to add 1 more Tbsp of corn starch, but it still turned out perfectly delicious! I will definitely use this as a filling as often as I can.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
There is too much almond extract on this recipe. I felt like if my tongue and throat were burning. However, 1/2 a teaspoon of extract would work well. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmenid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
i'm a pro. cake decorator and used this recipe to fill a pineapple buttercake. i followed the recipe exactly except i folded in drained crushed pineapple. WOW!!!!!! this is in my recipe box FOREVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elfgirl1968
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So easy to make. I especially like using the powdered milk. I used it for a marble cake I made. Still had some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I had some extra egg yolks from a different recipe and this put them to a great use! Just minutes to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Used 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extracts with 1.5 Tbsp marachino cherry juice. It took a full minute of whisking to incorporate all the cherry at the end. I realize the cherry juice thinned it out a little but I agree the filling is not thick enough. As the recipe stands I would add at least 1 more tsp of cornstarch. Though I can't recall having a custard filling or topping on poppy seed cake, so maybe I'm speaking out of turn, because that's how it's supposed to be. Several people took home the modified recipe. I used as tart filling and sprinkled with a few slivered almonds and half a maraschino cherry. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I love this filling. Of course I love almond-flavored anything! I think it could have used a bit more almond extract, but I followed the recipe exact being the first time I attempted it. I used this for filling for a chocolate 8" layer cake, it looks like I have enough for two cakes. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was my first time making custard, and it turned out perfect. Make sure to stay right by the stove and to continue stiring, so it doesn't go lumpy! My in-laws are from England, and the only difference is that they don't put as much sugar. I made this just like the recipe said, adding vanilla instead of almond, and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States