Almond Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The almond taste was overwhelming even after cutting the almond extract in half. The custard has a very "eggy" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeoITMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was "good". Based on other reviews, I cut WAY back on the sugar and it still came out very sweet. I also did 1/2 vanilla, 1/2 almond. This will fill a chocolate cake for Halloween, so of course I'll be adding orange coloring :-) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Nice texture & super easy to make. Used it to fill my almond poppy seed muffins. Only complaint is that I can still taste the powdered milk. I do have sensitive taste buds and my box was expired...although it smelled the same as a fresh one does...terrible! Love the almond flavoring. Will make again with fresh, powdered milk. Hope that changes the results! (Glad I made the full recipe; I did have some leftover, but less than 1/3)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Really good with fish fingers! (Seriously.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Amazing! My 11 year old daughter made this with a little supervision. Definitely making it again. We used it for filling for vanilla crepes. It would make a great filling for cakes or centers for cupcakes. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Yum Yum Yum! This was my first time making custard, and i was a little worried how it would come out, and how i would layer it in between my cakes. The custard was delicious, and my husband and his brother loved it! I wanted a big batch, so i doubled everything, including the almond extract for extra flavor. Since i double the recipe i had to cook over high heat at first, other wise it wouldn't solidify. I chilled it over night, then used it as my layer in my sheet cake. the custard was a big hit, and i'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Pretty good. For us 1/2 cup sugar was plenty. Instead of water I used skim milk, for powder dry milk I used powder coffee creamer because that's what I had on hand. Substituted equally no problem. I did 1/2 the almond called for and the other half vanilla. It goes from it not being thick and is never going to get thick to OMG its thick. Served it on the side of a pound cake with fresh blueberries on top. I'm sure it would be great in a trifle or parfait cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
What a great way to use leftover egg yolks. The almond extract was not such a good thing for mine. It smelled yummy till I added the almond extract. Since my husband can't eat a lot of sugar, I used granulated Splenda and evap. milk instead (He is also allergic to regular milk). Most of it is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I have now made this twice. The first time I had the hardest time getting it to thicken. I'm guessing my "guestimating" of the cornstarch didn't cut it. It was an easy fix--I just mixed a small amount (1/2 tbsp) of cornstarch with some milk, added it to the custard, and continued to cook it. The second time I was more careful with my measurements and the custard thickened beautifully. I'm so glad it's full-proof! It's a delicious custard that I used to fill a white almond cake found on this website. If you love almond-flavored foods, you'll die when you have this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This custard was delicious without changing a thing. I was looking for a filling thick enough to fill a tart and this worked perfectly. Vanilla flavor could be easily substituted for the almond flavoring. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States