Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These cupcakes are super delicious, but there are a couple things I changed while making the recipe as well as things I would do differently when making them again. First, I used all unsalted butter - not margarine or salted butter. Next, I double the amount of almond extract because I really wanted that flavor to shine through and 1 tsp just wasn't enough. Lastly, I had to add almost an additional cup of confectioner's sugar to the frosting because it was way too loose. In addition to my changes, I would definitely change the caramel recipe the next time around - it's too greasy. Instead I would make a "real" wet caramel (water and sugar) and omit any butter. To finish them, I topped them with slivered almonds and a sprinkle of fleur de sel. While I did make some changes, these cupcakes are sinfully good and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Loved these cupcakes! I like the almond flavor with the carmel combination. I added a bit more powdered sugar to thicken the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were excellent! I made them for family and friends and everyone raved about them. I drizzled the caramel mixture over the batter once the liners were filled for an added caramel taste. I also drizzled the caramel on top of the frosting and topped them with a few granules of sea salt to help cut the sweetness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I followed this cake recipe almost exactly, my changes were-- I used 1cup of buttermilk instead of 3/4 cup whole milk. In doing so, I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp & added 1/2 tsp baking soda. I used margarine & I must say the cupcakes I ended up with are the springiest, moist cupcakes Ive ever had/felt! (I am in love with their texture!) I followed the caramel recipe to a T & I think I may have not let it thicken enough because when I poured in the heavy cream, I ended up with a rather thin liquid looking nothing like honey. So I decided to half the buttercream recipe since I obviously botched the caramel. I beat 1/2 cup salted butter with 1 cup powdered sugar until creamy and slowly poured a"little" of the caramel liquid in, added more sugar & repeated a couple times until the flavor & consistency were there. I dont think I even used half of my caramel mixture. Then I beat until it was fluffy & sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top after frosting each cupcake. I loved the way these turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCourtKnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These turned out really good! It actually made 24 cupcakes for me instead of 12 like it yields. Fairly simple to make and the frosting turned out great! It wasn't runny or loose like other reviews stated, I actually put in some whipping cream to make it a tad softer! Make sure you taste while you go on the frosting. I think if I put in ALL of the carmel it would have been way too strong. Also, when making the carmel, just put in the cream a little at a time, just because it says half a cup, doesn't mean you should just throw it in there. Go a little at a time to get the right consistency and it'll turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was delicious! The cake was very moist and flavorful. The icing didn't have as much caramel flavor as I would have liked, so I added some sugar free caramel sauce I have for coffee. Great go to recipe for fancy but easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made this today for my husband to take to a potluck at his work. I doubled the recipe for the cupcakes, but used the regular recipe for the frosting and caramel. I'm glad I didn't double the caramel! There is a ton left over, and I dipped the tops of each cupcake in the caramel, and then drizzled it over frosting. I didn't have enough frosting for all of my cupcakes (maybe 6 aren't frosted) so I poked holes in them with a fork and applied a thick layer of the caramel. Everything is very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. Only adjustments I made were using Agave Nectar instead of corn syrup (I didn't have any) and I used an extra tsp of almond extract to intensify the almond flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The cupcake itself is awesome.. no need to change anything. The frosting can be tweaked to your preference. You have to do some adjusting to make it more salty or sweet depending on what result you are looking for. I highly suggest as others did that you cut down on the butter for the frosting, as it will make it more thin and greasy. The extra powdered sugar is helpful, but you may need to add an extra pinch of salt to even out the sweetness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatli19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is the most awesome frosting I have ever made it is the one go to for beautiful and silky caramel flavor, love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I doubled this cupcake recipe and added 10 tbs of cocoa powder to make it chocolate almond cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States