Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These cupcakes are super delicious, but there are a couple things I changed while making the recipe as well as things I would do differently when making them again. First, I used all unsalted butter - not margarine or salted butter. Next, I double the amount of almond extract because I really wanted that flavor to shine through and 1 tsp just wasn't enough. Lastly, I had to add almost an additional cup of confectioner's sugar to the frosting because it was way too loose. In addition to my changes, I would definitely change the caramel recipe the next time around - it's too greasy. Instead I would make a "real" wet caramel (water and sugar) and omit any butter. To finish them, I topped them with slivered almonds and a sprinkle of fleur de sel. While I did make some changes, these cupcakes are sinfully good and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakinMama
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
When making the caramel, you dont have to use all the cream, just enough to make it smooth enough to mix in with the butter cream(when the caramel is cold it firms up and you want to add it to the frosting when its cool/cold as to not ruin your frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were excellent! I made them for family and friends and everyone raved about them. I drizzled the caramel mixture over the batter once the liners were filled for an added caramel taste. I also drizzled the caramel on top of the frosting and topped them with a few granules of sea salt to help cut the sweetness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Loved these cupcakes! I like the almond flavor with the carmel combination. I added a bit more powdered sugar to thicken the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I followed this cake recipe almost exactly, my changes were-- I used 1cup of buttermilk instead of 3/4 cup whole milk. In doing so, I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp & added 1/2 tsp baking soda. I used margarine & I must say the cupcakes I ended up with are the springiest, moist cupcakes Ive ever had/felt! (I am in love with their texture!) I followed the caramel recipe to a T & I think I may have not let it thicken enough because when I poured in the heavy cream, I ended up with a rather thin liquid looking nothing like honey. So I decided to half the buttercream recipe since I obviously botched the caramel. I beat 1/2 cup salted butter with 1 cup powdered sugar until creamy and slowly poured a"little" of the caramel liquid in, added more sugar & repeated a couple times until the flavor & consistency were there. I dont think I even used half of my caramel mixture. Then I beat until it was fluffy & sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top after frosting each cupcake. I loved the way these turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCourtKnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I doubled this cupcake recipe and added 10 tbs of cocoa powder to make it chocolate almond cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is the most awesome frosting I have ever made it is the one go to for beautiful and silky caramel flavor, love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This cupcake is very moist and tastes great. I was looking for a recipe for 12 cupcakes and this was it. I will be using it for the base for all of my cupcakes varieties. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
The cupcakes were divine when following the recipe as written! The frosting was good, but I had to do the caramel a little different because I was having some issues getting the cream to incorporate with it. Nothing that the blender on the liquefy setting couldn't take care of for me though. My only complaint is that apparently I did not make enough...because our dogs ate over half of them while they cooled on the racks! Little stinkers! However; the ones we did eat...were marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
LOVED the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States