Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
5 stars for the cake as I didn't use this frosting recipe. The cupcake is divine! I did double the almond extract based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelia58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Cupcake is moist, don't overfill cupcake tin, frosting is a little too sweet and needs more salt for the salty taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was delicious! The cake was very moist and flavorful. The icing didn't have as much caramel flavor as I would have liked, so I added some sugar free caramel sauce I have for coffee. Great go to recipe for fancy but easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This cupcake recipe hit the spot! It was perfectly moist. I was craving an almond cupcake, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Scully
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Yum! This recipe is all about the icing and it is so good! (although didn't use all the cream stated as per the other reviews) My Mom's caramel icing gets hard too fast and you can't put it in a piping bag. This recipe the icing stays soft. The cake portion turned out good too - I only baked them for 18 minutes. The cupcakes held their shape and didn't fall. Thanks for the recipe. I will make them again. Next time I will double the cake portion as there was a lot of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scully

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I read and followed others advice...the caramel sauce doesn't need all the cream added, I made a 1/2 batch and used 2+TBSP.-worked great! The frosting is light, fluffy, and pipeable. I made a 1/2 batch to try this and added 2 TBSP caramel and 1/2 c. more powdered sugar and a 1/4 tsp. of sea salt. I tried other recipes that were very unappealing and not to my needs, but this is PERFECT in every way. I went against my grain, I like from scratch recipes. I put this on Betty Crocker Butter Pecan cake mix that I added a heaping cup of butter toasted pecans, crushed, to the batter. And of course, crushed pecans on top of the frosted cupcake! Yum! All my neighbors taste tested this and thought it was fabulous and want the recipe! I challenge any pro bakery to come up with better! I'm proudly serving these at a shower and hope you try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was pretty bad, The cake did not have much flavor, let alone almond. The frosting was greasy and did not taste much of caramel, or a salted caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My family loved these and they went very fast. We kept them chilled because they tasted better chilled. Pluse, I saved a few tsp. of the caramel and drizzed it over the frosting as the picture showed. I will definately make these again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Wow, I've tried salted caramel cupcakes all over Chicagoland and this is probably the best one I've had. The cake was deliciously fluffy and the frosting had the perfect soft buttery texture and salted caramel flavor. I followed the recipe almost to a T, allowing the caramel to cool completely before adding it to the cream, and the frosting turned out perfect. The only changes I made was substituting butter for margarine for the cake batter and using 2% milk instead of whole milk, because I ran out of margarine and whole milk. I also made a "healthier" batch by mistake when I used 1/4 cup of margarine (instead of 1/2 cup) to the cake batter. This healthier batch of cupcakes also tasted really good. You know that the recipe is really good when the "mistake" batch still taste delicious. Thanks for posting this incredible recipe, BakinMama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
OMG! We made these cupcakes with the resididents and staff today and everyone FLIPPED! They were sooooo good! Amazing! Wouldnt change a thing! Thanks for th recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States