Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KrispyDoodle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These were a huge hit! Followed the recipe but substituted the margarine for butter (butter always makes it better, hee hee)... Doubled the recipe and it made 24 regular sized cupcakes and 24 mini cupcakes. Made a batch of butter cream and incorporated the caramel into half and made a coconut butter cream with the other half. Both flavor went very well with this delicious almond cake. For the caramel cupcakes I hollowed out the center using an apple corer and put some of that extra caramel in the center. Topped it with the butter cream, toffee and a drizzle of caramel. These were phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe! Made it for a Valentine's party, and they were a huge hit! For those having problems with the icing: I only used half of the caramel in the buttercream, and the other half I drizzled over the top. Also, allow the cupcakes to cool completely before you frost them. The buttercream is a little easier to work with also if you cool it slightly. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Just made this in my class. It was an easy formula, but I ended up using way more powdered sugar for my frosting, because it was really loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Dry cupcakes thatvstuck to the wrappers. Icing was good but needed a lot of thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made these for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. The frosting is absolutely delicious and I will definitely make it again. I was a little disappointed in the cupcakes though. They tasted good but they were heavy and dense, not light and fluffy like you expect a cupcake to be. Guests said they were yummy but more like a muffin than a cupcake. Won't be using the batter recipe again but did love the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is the first time I have ever come across a caramel recipe that called for adding the cream after cooking was finished, I decided to humor the poster and give it a try. The results are disastrous! It turns greasy. I poured out at least a 1/4 of a cup of grease the remaining "caramel" is flavorless and too thick to drizzle. I like the idea but was better off scrapping this recipe and making traditional butter caramel and making a buttercream frosting with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I haven't made the cupcakes yet but I did make the salted caramel frosting and it was amazing. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and after reading some of the reviews it was best to "add as needed" because I probably only used about 2 Tablespoons. It was fine with the half and half since I had it leftover from a previous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
The frosting for this recipe is awesome. It is very creamy and delicious. I used some of caramel to drizzle on top and then sprinkled a little sea salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These are simply stunning. Just that little big different to make them stand out at any event. I used all un-salted butter. Doubled the amount of almond extract and had to use extra sugar to get the frosting as stiff as I wanted. Perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Marion Myers
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These are delicious. I seeded a vanilla bean for the cupcake instead of using extract, and I reserved some of the caramel to drizzle over the cupcakes after iced. I also only used 1 teaspoon of vanilla in the caramel, and the flavor was perfect for us. I also did not have salted butter on hand, so for the icing I added a teaspoon of salt and that worked well for our tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States