Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Other than adding 1/4t salt & subbing with salted butter, I followed this recipe. Quite a shock considering I usually don't - sometimes on purpose, sometimes not. :) These were good. I had a minibakeoff with Marianne's Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes. I liked them a little better. These are soft & have a light yellow color. They're more yellow than Sweet Vanilla. I didn't make the frosting, but I'm going to have to. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I did add an extra teaspoon for almond and love the result. I also added buttermilk instead of milk. I am sure it would have been fine with just milk but I am used to use buttermilk. This recipe deserves more attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Amazing. Made this for the adults at a kid party. They were a huge hit! I'll make them again, but not any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I loved this cake! I made the cupcakes three times in a week when I tried them. I did follow some of the notes left by others. I only used unsalted butter because when I tried margarine, the caramel separated and did not work well. I definitely recommend doubling the almond extract, too. Also I traded the milk for 1cup buttermilk as another noted and adjusted the baking powder and added baking soda as she said (thanks ChefCourtKnee !!!) The texture was amazing! I love using buttermilk in cakes now. Sometimes if I don't have buttermilk I make some by adding about 1tbsp of vinegar to 1 cup milk and leaving it to sit for 5-10 min before I use it. The results are the same as buying buttermilk at the store. The frosting recipe is a little sweet for my taste, but others said they loved it. I would definitely give the recipe five stars, especially with the changes others suggested. Thanks everyone for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Enjoyed making and eating this cupcake. Hubby really approved. Cupcake itself was a bit dense but the frosting was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made these to have for Valentine's Day, so thankful, these cupcakes are absolutely outstanding! Awesome flavor, and they look absolutely beautiful too! Definitely a keeper. Thank You BakinMama for sharing. Absolutely delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I followed the directions exactly & did not find this recipe to be very pleasing. The cake was fine, nothing exciting but not really good. Let's just say that I'm trying to cut back on my sweets and if I don't love it I don't eat all of it. I would not have eaten this entire cupcake. The big kicker was the icing. I bake often and usually do not have these problems. The icing was a mess. the caramel recipe was too runny, even without any heavy cream. You defiantly cannot add all to the buttercream. it would just be too intense. Lastly, I had to add a ton of confectioners sugar to get the frosting to thicken up and I just couldn't rescue it. This recipe was a fail. Might be fine with lots of tweaking but then it isn't this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natalie.dodds
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
One of the best cupcakes I've ever had!! I made a caramel sauce with white sugar instead of the one given here, it worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These were really good! Received many compliments. I doubled the amount of almond extract. I didn't think it was enough but others thought it was fine. Next time I will cut the frosting recipe to a third of what it is asking for. Had quite a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this recipe! I doubled it to make 100 mini cupcakes, added an extra tablespoon of almond extract to bring out the almond flavor, kept some caramel to drizzle on top and added almond slivers as decoration.. All in all a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States