Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Karen Scully
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Yum! This recipe is all about the icing and it is so good! (although didn't use all the cream stated as per the other reviews) My Mom's caramel icing gets hard too fast and you can't put it in a piping bag. This recipe the icing stays soft. The cake portion turned out good too - I only baked them for 18 minutes. The cupcakes held their shape and didn't fall. Thanks for the recipe. I will make them again. Next time I will double the cake portion as there was a lot of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scully

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I read and followed others advice...the caramel sauce doesn't need all the cream added, I made a 1/2 batch and used 2+TBSP.-worked great! The frosting is light, fluffy, and pipeable. I made a 1/2 batch to try this and added 2 TBSP caramel and 1/2 c. more powdered sugar and a 1/4 tsp. of sea salt. I tried other recipes that were very unappealing and not to my needs, but this is PERFECT in every way. I went against my grain, I like from scratch recipes. I put this on Betty Crocker Butter Pecan cake mix that I added a heaping cup of butter toasted pecans, crushed, to the batter. And of course, crushed pecans on top of the frosted cupcake! Yum! All my neighbors taste tested this and thought it was fabulous and want the recipe! I challenge any pro bakery to come up with better! I'm proudly serving these at a shower and hope you try the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was pretty bad, The cake did not have much flavor, let alone almond. The frosting was greasy and did not taste much of caramel, or a salted caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My family loved these and they went very fast. We kept them chilled because they tasted better chilled. Pluse, I saved a few tsp. of the caramel and drizzed it over the frosting as the picture showed. I will definately make these again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Wow, I've tried salted caramel cupcakes all over Chicagoland and this is probably the best one I've had. The cake was deliciously fluffy and the frosting had the perfect soft buttery texture and salted caramel flavor. I followed the recipe almost to a T, allowing the caramel to cool completely before adding it to the cream, and the frosting turned out perfect. The only changes I made was substituting butter for margarine for the cake batter and using 2% milk instead of whole milk, because I ran out of margarine and whole milk. I also made a "healthier" batch by mistake when I used 1/4 cup of margarine (instead of 1/2 cup) to the cake batter. This healthier batch of cupcakes also tasted really good. You know that the recipe is really good when the "mistake" batch still taste delicious. Thanks for posting this incredible recipe, BakinMama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
OMG! We made these cupcakes with the resididents and staff today and everyone FLIPPED! They were sooooo good! Amazing! Wouldnt change a thing! Thanks for th recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Easy cake and frosting recipe. The frosting needs at least one additional cup (probably cup and a half) of powdered sugar to make it stiff enough to pipe or to spread and not have it run off the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made this today for my husband to take to a potluck at his work. I doubled the recipe for the cupcakes, but used the regular recipe for the frosting and caramel. I'm glad I didn't double the caramel! There is a ton left over, and I dipped the tops of each cupcake in the caramel, and then drizzled it over frosting. I didn't have enough frosting for all of my cupcakes (maybe 6 aren't frosted) so I poked holes in them with a fork and applied a thick layer of the caramel. Everything is very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. Only adjustments I made were using Agave Nectar instead of corn syrup (I didn't have any) and I used an extra tsp of almond extract to intensify the almond flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I only made the cupcake and decided on a different icing. These were absolutely fabulous! The almond extract really gives the cupcake a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Recipe is primarily for the buttercream frosting. it was delish. It wasn't too sweet and had the perfect salted caramel taste. However, it was really messy and melty- if that makes sense. I made cupcakes and the frosting seemed to want to melt/run away from the cupcakes even though they were flat topped and on a flat surface. Any suggestions on how to thicken it up w/o sacrificing flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States