Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made these to have for Valentine's Day, so thankful, these cupcakes are absolutely outstanding! Awesome flavor, and they look absolutely beautiful too! Definitely a keeper. Thank You BakinMama for sharing. Absolutely delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I followed the directions exactly & did not find this recipe to be very pleasing. The cake was fine, nothing exciting but not really good. Let's just say that I'm trying to cut back on my sweets and if I don't love it I don't eat all of it. I would not have eaten this entire cupcake. The big kicker was the icing. I bake often and usually do not have these problems. The icing was a mess. the caramel recipe was too runny, even without any heavy cream. You defiantly cannot add all to the buttercream. it would just be too intense. Lastly, I had to add a ton of confectioners sugar to get the frosting to thicken up and I just couldn't rescue it. This recipe was a fail. Might be fine with lots of tweaking but then it isn't this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natalie.dodds
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
One of the best cupcakes I've ever had!! I made a caramel sauce with white sugar instead of the one given here, it worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These were really good! Received many compliments. I doubled the amount of almond extract. I didn't think it was enough but others thought it was fine. Next time I will cut the frosting recipe to a third of what it is asking for. Had quite a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this recipe! I doubled it to make 100 mini cupcakes, added an extra tablespoon of almond extract to bring out the almond flavor, kept some caramel to drizzle on top and added almond slivers as decoration.. All in all a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Best cupcakes I've made yet!!! I also added an extra tsp of almond for extra flavor and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigett Kohn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
The frosting was really hard to make but in the end it was so delicious that it was worth the frustration I felt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I had a lot of trouble with this recipe. I followed the directions word for word to make the cake, but still found that my cupcakes came out very dry and tough. Perhaps it was a mistake on my part. I would definitely recommend using more almond extract than specified because my cupcakes seemed to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doberman/puglover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very delicious cupcakes! I doubled the almond extract and only added some of the caramel to the icing. I used the extra caramel to drizzle on top of the iced cupcakes! These were so delicious and I highly recommend trying these out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I am a professional pastry chef and tried this recipe...it was fabulous! I made it a second time and doubled the almond in the cake batter, and used 1 cup of all purpose flour and 1/2 cup of cake flour.YUM YUM!!! For the icing, I made a Swiss meringue and added about 1/2 to 3/4 of the very cold caramel. then when I refrigerated them to "set" the icing I warmed the caramel and dribbled it on top of the icing...we gave 1/2 of them to my neighbor because we couldn't stop eating them! She told me her kids fought over the last one to take to school for lunch the next day!! I will make for parties so i can't eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States