Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Best cupcakes I've made yet!!! I also added an extra tsp of almond for extra flavor and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
The frosting was really hard to make but in the end it was so delicious that it was worth the frustration I felt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I had a lot of trouble with this recipe. I followed the directions word for word to make the cake, but still found that my cupcakes came out very dry and tough. Perhaps it was a mistake on my part. I would definitely recommend using more almond extract than specified because my cupcakes seemed to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doberman/puglover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very delicious cupcakes! I doubled the almond extract and only added some of the caramel to the icing. I used the extra caramel to drizzle on top of the iced cupcakes! These were so delicious and I highly recommend trying these out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I am a professional pastry chef and tried this recipe...it was fabulous! I made it a second time and doubled the almond in the cake batter, and used 1 cup of all purpose flour and 1/2 cup of cake flour.YUM YUM!!! For the icing, I made a Swiss meringue and added about 1/2 to 3/4 of the very cold caramel. then when I refrigerated them to "set" the icing I warmed the caramel and dribbled it on top of the icing...we gave 1/2 of them to my neighbor because we couldn't stop eating them! She told me her kids fought over the last one to take to school for lunch the next day!! I will make for parties so i can't eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrispyDoodle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These were a huge hit! Followed the recipe but substituted the margarine for butter (butter always makes it better, hee hee)... Doubled the recipe and it made 24 regular sized cupcakes and 24 mini cupcakes. Made a batch of butter cream and incorporated the caramel into half and made a coconut butter cream with the other half. Both flavor went very well with this delicious almond cake. For the caramel cupcakes I hollowed out the center using an apple corer and put some of that extra caramel in the center. Topped it with the butter cream, toffee and a drizzle of caramel. These were phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe! Made it for a Valentine's party, and they were a huge hit! For those having problems with the icing: I only used half of the caramel in the buttercream, and the other half I drizzled over the top. Also, allow the cupcakes to cool completely before you frost them. The buttercream is a little easier to work with also if you cool it slightly. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Just made this in my class. It was an easy formula, but I ended up using way more powdered sugar for my frosting, because it was really loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Dry cupcakes thatvstuck to the wrappers. Icing was good but needed a lot of thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made these for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. The frosting is absolutely delicious and I will definitely make it again. I was a little disappointed in the cupcakes though. They tasted good but they were heavy and dense, not light and fluffy like you expect a cupcake to be. Guests said they were yummy but more like a muffin than a cupcake. Won't be using the batter recipe again but did love the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States