Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent! Also reserved some caramel to drizzle over tops. Sweet, unique, and delicious while using common ingredients. Exactly what I was going for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
A to the mazzzzzing. I made these for my friends bridal shower and they were a big hit. The cake was moist and delicious, the frosting was spot on and the Carmel was superb! Very good recipe and easy to follow. I did as other reviewers and doubled the almond extract, it's a must to get that punch of flavor. Also I'm not a fan of margarine so I used all butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kjwright
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very yummy. Had to add more powdered sugar after adding the caramel to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Amazing. Everyone loved them. The frosting was a little runny though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was so easy I'm 13 and could make this alone. It was also really moist and the frosting was to die for. I made this for my parents wine club and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
These were really good. I almost followed the recipe exactly, but I don't keep salted butter in the house so I used unsalted butter in place of the salted butter and margarine. I also ended up adding another cup of confectioner's sugar, like some of the other reviewers stated. It would have made more than 12, I scoop with 1/4 cup scoop so every cupcake is the same size. I also had more icing than I needed, quite a bit more, maybe twice what I needed. I brought some to work and they were a hit. I even passed them out before I had tried one because I didn't finish them until shortly after midnight last night. I figured I could risk it though because they are just so darn pretty! Thanks BakinMama for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Other than adding 1/4t salt & subbing with salted butter, I followed this recipe. Quite a shock considering I usually don't - sometimes on purpose, sometimes not. :) These were good. I had a minibakeoff with Marianne's Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes. I liked them a little better. These are soft & have a light yellow color. They're more yellow than Sweet Vanilla. I didn't make the frosting, but I'm going to have to. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I did add an extra teaspoon for almond and love the result. I also added buttermilk instead of milk. I am sure it would have been fine with just milk but I am used to use buttermilk. This recipe deserves more attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Amazing. Made this for the adults at a kid party. They were a huge hit! I'll make them again, but not any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I loved this cake! I made the cupcakes three times in a week when I tried them. I did follow some of the notes left by others. I only used unsalted butter because when I tried margarine, the caramel separated and did not work well. I definitely recommend doubling the almond extract, too. Also I traded the milk for 1cup buttermilk as another noted and adjusted the baking powder and added baking soda as she said (thanks ChefCourtKnee !!!) The texture was amazing! I love using buttermilk in cakes now. Sometimes if I don't have buttermilk I make some by adding about 1tbsp of vinegar to 1 cup milk and leaving it to sit for 5-10 min before I use it. The results are the same as buying buttermilk at the store. The frosting recipe is a little sweet for my taste, but others said they loved it. I would definitely give the recipe five stars, especially with the changes others suggested. Thanks everyone for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States