Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Excellent. Not hard, easy to prepare ahead. Made double sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
As much as I love fish, I thought I couldn't go wrong with a recipe so well-reviewed, but unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed. I won't be making this again. The taste was just bland with a lot of buttery sauce. Not for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
WOW! I don't even like seafood and this was AWESOME. I will double the sauce next time though. I used 2 8 oz halibut, used dried thyme and I did not strain the sauce. I also only used 4 T of butter in the sauce. For the bread crumbs I used 1/2 bread crumbs and 1/2 panko. Only need to broil for a minute and it was perfect. Next time I will make my sides first as this dish comes together very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I was looking for an elegant dinner to serve for guests and this was it! 5 stars is an understatement. I did leave the thyme leaves in the sauce along with the shallots rather than drain them and doubled the sauce too. My mother, who doesn't care for fish, loved this recipe. I served this with Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions from this site to give the plate a little color. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElCee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This just didn't do it for me, maybe from the name I was expecting something more. I gave it a three cause I love Halibut, but the sauce was just rich sauce. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I was so disappointed with this recipe. With all the rave reviews I thought it would be delicious but it wasn't. My husband felt the sauce was too heavy in his stomach and neither one of us liked the taste of the sauce. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Was well worth the effort. It is a very hearty dish and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jm3763

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I had read the reviews that said this was too much work, but really boiling it down was simple - i could do that without even watching it... from there you just added the cream and butter. Simple! The recipe just looks intense but it's not hard! I only gave it 4 stars though because I did end up having to add a little salt/pepper to add to the flavor. I also added a little chicken bullion to give it more "umph" - it did lack a little something.... but it was impressive and really tasty with just a few tweaks. I served it with steamed broccoli and a chipotle roasted corn salsa.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I thought it was fine. I certainly didn't find it to be the amazing experience that so many people had. I followed the recipe exactly. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States