Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Excellent! i used macadamia nuts instead of almonds, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I thought this was an awful lot of work for less than spectacular results - plus very unhealthy with all that butter. And I won't even mention how much I had to pay for the halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was not very good to me. The sauce tasted like a stick of butter, and I did not like the fish pan fried then broiled. Maybe if it were completely broiled, and the sauce had less than half the butter and more cream it would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this fish for dinner tonight and the end result was pretty good, but not spectacular I'm afraid. I did make the beurre blanc and as it was my first attempt I didn't really know what to expect. The end result was very tangy with the biggest flavour being vinegar. I think if I were to make this sauce again, I would look for a different recipe. For the fish, I followed the recipe with one exception, I did not brush the fish with egg, there was enough butter/oil left on the fish from frying that nothing else was required. If I were to make this again, I would skip the frying step as it's unnecessary and just ended up causing a few of my filets to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My wife and I made this for the second time tonight. One word....awesome. Absolutely one of our favorite dishes to make. If halibut wasn't so expensive these days, we'd probably make it all the time. We tend to use more heavy cream than the recipe calls for to make more sauce. The first time, we used the specified amount (1/3 cup) and it didn't make enough sauce. Tonight we used 1 cup and we had a good bit left over. I think next time we'll try using 2/3 cup and see if it's the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
outside of just sprinkling some lemon-pepper on salmon, this was the first real fish dish i have ever made, and i thank you for posting it. i followed the directions to a t, and it was very delicious. this is also my first saved recipe. mmm mmm mmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omny_Devi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
No changes were necessary. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
AMAZING! If you have halibut make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is the most delicious recipe ever! Worth the time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was absolutely the best gourmet dinner i have ever made. I have never received THAT many compliments and praise from one meal. I am by no means an expert so this is coming from personal opinion. I did not sieve the sauce. I just removed the bay leafs and left the shallots in there. For one I didn't have one and two didnt see personally why i would take out the shallots? So if you want to skip that step feel free because this recipe is TOP NOTCH! Agree with other posters. Prepare everything in advance. I put every step in separate bowls and it helped big time! Add rice and DOUBLE the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASunleaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States