Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I love this receipe and play with it each time I make it. My suggestions: (1)Timing is everything so I have all sauce ingredients pre-measured in small dishs ready to go. (2) Use more heavy cream in the sauce. Don't think you can use too much. (3) Use very fresh chives. (4) I prefer to finish the fish on the grill, versus the broiler. To do so, this is a 2 person receipe, so the fish and sauce finish at about the same time. (5) I'm partial to Jasmine rice on dishes with great sauces and it works well here. Just be sure to add some other vegetables for serving "color" to balance the appearance of the plate. Finally, don't worry about fat and calories. I do a long workout the next day everytime I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I used fat free half and half because I had a little left in the fridge that I didn't want to go to waste. Delicious!!! Looking over the recipe I was a little intimidated, but it really was pretty easy. What I did to make it easier for myself was to separate out the ingredients. In one section were the ingredients to make the sauce, then in another section were the ingredients to finish the sauce, and in the last section were the ingredients to bread/crust the fish. Working through the recipe in sections like this made it way easier... Also, before turning any stoves or broilers on, or even before taking anything out of the fridge - mince your almonds and shallots. Oh, and follow the part where it says only one or two minutes in the broiler.. I left mine in longer and burned some of the breading. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
To be honest, I couldn't figure out what all the fuss was about when I read this recipe - it seemed pretty bland. Well, I made it tonight and my husband and I could not believe how incredible it was. I used Chilean Sea Bass and served it with rice pilaf and steamed cauliflower. Next time, I will double the sauce to serve over top of the vegetables although that will send the caloric content of this one over the top. But it will be worth it! DO TRY THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Wow. YUMMY recipe! I'm glad I read the other reviews, simply to know to double the sauce and to have all the ingredients prepped (it helps, IMMENSELY). I also changed the recipe a tad to make it more "diet friendly" by using fat free half and half instead of heavy cream, used only the egg white for brushing the halibut and I substitued Brummel and Brown spread for the butter (I also cut the 10T down to 5T for the sauce). While I don't know what the original recipe tastes like, my husband, daughter and I all loved this with the exchanges! PS it's also EXCELLENT when prepared with chicken if you're not a big fish eater.... Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Presentation is nicer than this actually tastes. Was very easy to make. Toughest part was spooning the almond mixture on top; and that wasn't a big deal at all. It took an hour and 10 minutes; start to finish. I will make again. However, will definitely use half the shallots, 1/2 the vinegar and 1/2 of the butter. The shallots were overwhelming, the sauce had sour undertones from the vinegar and I really don't think all 10 TBSPS butter was necessary, either. Will BRUSH ON the oil/butter mixture and BROIL the fish (to save cleaning another pan) without the crumb topping, and use the same pan to finish, with the crumb topping. I think this is worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Incredible! As per other's advice, I used Tilapia instead of Halibut ($6.99 per pound versus $16.99 per pound for the Halibut)and saved a bunch without sacraficing any taste. Watch out - the sauce is incredibly time consuming, but well worth it in the end. You'll probably need an extra pair of hands (like your hubby) to pull this one off. I served this over white rice from the rice cooker and balsamic asparagus. Give 30 minutes to make the sauce, counting on starting the fish with your "extra hands" after about 25 minutes. Definitely keep the sauce in a bowl surrounded by hot water - this trick really worked. DOUBLE THE SAUCE RECIPE!!!! You'll regret it if you don't - the recipe doesn't make much and you'll especially want more if you serve with rice. I made this for 5 people, doubled the sauce, and used it all. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
FIVE STAR RECIPE, IT DID NOT TAKE THAT LONG TO PREPARE EITHER, I THINK THE KEY IS TO HAVE ALL OF THE INGREDINENTS READY TO GO, BEFORE YOU START COOKING. MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED THIS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Fantastic flavors. To lighten the sauce I added only 4 tbls of butter. Next time I will add less shallots (maybe 1 tbls) to help lighten the onion flavor since using less butter made the flavor very pronounced. We still liked it, but some people might find it overwhelming. I think I will add a little more cream as well to help extend the sauce. I happened to have some chive cider vinegar that I used in place of chopped chives. I left out the lemon juice since some other reviewers had mentioned it was tangy enough without it and I agree with them. I don't think the sauce needed it. I didn't have any bread crumbs so I just used the minced almonds and egg for the topping. This worked fine. I really liked how the topping hardened and helped keep the fish moist while it broiled. It took about 7 minutes for my topping to brown and I had been concerned that my fish would be overdone. Not to worry the topping did the trick. The fish was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This is the best recipe I have ever used. Tasted like a 5 star french resturaunt. A little time consuming but worth it. Excellent!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was a delicious recipe. My mom,who normally frowns at whine sauces, loved the sauce and my dad who questions anything that isn't BBQ said it tasted great. Also was not difficult to make, although there are several steps. This is a keeper. (Mom also said it can be our weekly fish dish!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States