Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Was well worth the effort. It is a very hearty dish and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jm3763

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I had read the reviews that said this was too much work, but really boiling it down was simple - i could do that without even watching it... from there you just added the cream and butter. Simple! The recipe just looks intense but it's not hard! I only gave it 4 stars though because I did end up having to add a little salt/pepper to add to the flavor. I also added a little chicken bullion to give it more "umph" - it did lack a little something.... but it was impressive and really tasty with just a few tweaks. I served it with steamed broccoli and a chipotle roasted corn salsa.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I thought it was fine. I certainly didn't find it to be the amazing experience that so many people had. I followed the recipe exactly. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Absolutely 5 star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Two thumbs up on this one!! I followed some of the advice given from the reviews to have the ingredients prepared prior to starting - that helped alot. Accompanied this with a side of strings beans and Chardonnay and it turned out great. Perfect for a nice occasion. Awesome recipe. Thank you for sharing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe was very good, but called for way too much butter. I only put 5 tablespoons of butter in the sauce, and it came out fine. I did feel the sauce was in desperate need of a little salt. The thyme and bay leaf didn't wow me, so I added a little tarragon which I thought improved the sauce quite a bit. I don't know if this dish was really worth all the work, but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this once and it went over very well, perfect for a romantic dinner. The sauce is just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Kept to the recipe. My husband said it was outstanding. The sauce provided a great flavor. I plan on using the sauce for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have tried many wonderful recipes from this site with excellent results. In fact a good number of them have made it into regular circulation around my house. But this recipe is the first that I felt I had to review. I hate fish ... I mean I really HATE fish. My husband on the other hand is always asking me to make fish. So with company here for the holidays I decided to try 2 fish recipes from the site. The Broiled Tilapia Parmesan recipe and this one... based mostly on their high ratings and overwhelming positive reviews. I really enjoyed the Tilapia recipe ( altho I used Basa not tilapia) but I LOVED this one. I now have 2 fish recipes I will make again. The only change I made to this recipe was I doubled the sauce as suggested ... it was unbelievably good but I did have some leftovers not a lot tho so I will probably continue to double it. It was a big hit and compliments the fish wonderfully. Making the sauce was the most time consuming part of this recipe but worth the effort and it wasn't as unforgiving as I feared at the start. It reheated well in the microwave (not to boiling) so you can make this a bit ahead of time rather than trying to keep it warm ... then do your fish. I also did not use halibut but instead opted for Basa a fairly firm very mild white fish. No fishy flavour at all just delicate lovely flakes. Bottom line is that this is a very good recipe .. gourmet even .. try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States