Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Family loved this, despite the high cost of the halibut! I felt the sauce was a bit tangy even though I didnt even add the lemon juice. I think next time I would try with balsamic vinegar instead of cider. Definately double or 1 and 1/2 the sauce though as it doesnt make as much as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
My husband made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious. I am not usually fond of fish but ended up having second helpings and our 3 year old wolfed also it down. I don't know how much work it was because I was kicked out of the kitchen while the "chef" was at work but it was worth the effort. (He said it took about 45-50 mins to prepare which isn't too bad) Halibut isn't an inexpensive fish but it's worth going to the trouble of obtaining it if you can because the combination of this fish and the other flavours in this recipe was wonderful. We're fortunate that we can get wild Alaskan halibut locally and have already bought more just so we can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Delicious! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday dinner, and he raved! I recommend reducing the amount of lemon in the sauce, it was a little tart (and I like lemon). Otherwise, perfect served with wild rice & roasted asparagus. I didn't think it was overly time consuming, or difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This dish was not worth all the work for me. The sauce was very time consuming to prepare and it minimally added to the overall dish. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
yummy, rich flavor, but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I expected this to be a lot harder than it really was, but it wasn't that bad at all. It keeps you busy though! I took the advice of others and made sure all the ingredients were layed out ahead of time in order and ready to go. The end product was spectacular!! My husband said it was comparable to any fancy restaurant we'd ever been to! This will definitely become a staple in our house. Oh yeah and I substitued macadamia's instead of almonds which I don't really care for. I thought it was better this way, but I'm sure it's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
What a fancy, elegant dish! Halibut is such a mild, light fish! For anyone afraid of "fishy" tasting fish, this is the one for you!! Halibut is costly, so don't be surprised when you see the proce tage, but it is really great for a special occasion. Feels like fine restraurant dining at home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
A complicated recipe with a lot of special ingredients, but definitely gourmet and very delicious. Good for a planned small dinner party, not something you'd cook up with what you have in the kitchen on a weeknight after work. I've made it with frozen halibut (very good) & with fresh salmon (EXCELLENT).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
The closest thing to 'gourmet' that I have ever made! It looked and tasted like fine restaurant quality! I took advice of others into consideration tho: 1) Didn't know Halibut was so expensive...got 2 fillets for $19.95 (about a lb which was plenty for a romantic meal for you and your spouse) 2) Still made the full recipe for sauce so we would have enough...it was perfect for 2 people, 3) The sauce takes the longest about 30 mins, and you use alot of bowls/utinsels for this recipe..so have all that out, prep food & cut, sliced, chop first, and have an empty dishwasher, 4) used a fine strainer cuz I didn't have a seive, and 5) don't tell any health concious person how you made the sauce!! I served with a simple orzo recipe from this site and made that while making the sauce...excellent meal, but next time I'll go lighter with a side and have a salad. Get a babysitter, candles, and a a nice white wine with this and enjoy your night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My sister in law made this dish and it was the best halibut I have had the pleasure of eating. Fantastic, I can't wait to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States