Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This dish was not worth all the work for me. The sauce was very time consuming to prepare and it minimally added to the overall dish. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
yummy, rich flavor, but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I expected this to be a lot harder than it really was, but it wasn't that bad at all. It keeps you busy though! I took the advice of others and made sure all the ingredients were layed out ahead of time in order and ready to go. The end product was spectacular!! My husband said it was comparable to any fancy restaurant we'd ever been to! This will definitely become a staple in our house. Oh yeah and I substitued macadamia's instead of almonds which I don't really care for. I thought it was better this way, but I'm sure it's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
What a fancy, elegant dish! Halibut is such a mild, light fish! For anyone afraid of "fishy" tasting fish, this is the one for you!! Halibut is costly, so don't be surprised when you see the proce tage, but it is really great for a special occasion. Feels like fine restraurant dining at home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
A complicated recipe with a lot of special ingredients, but definitely gourmet and very delicious. Good for a planned small dinner party, not something you'd cook up with what you have in the kitchen on a weeknight after work. I've made it with frozen halibut (very good) & with fresh salmon (EXCELLENT).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
The closest thing to 'gourmet' that I have ever made! It looked and tasted like fine restaurant quality! I took advice of others into consideration tho: 1) Didn't know Halibut was so expensive...got 2 fillets for $19.95 (about a lb which was plenty for a romantic meal for you and your spouse) 2) Still made the full recipe for sauce so we would have enough...it was perfect for 2 people, 3) The sauce takes the longest about 30 mins, and you use alot of bowls/utinsels for this recipe..so have all that out, prep food & cut, sliced, chop first, and have an empty dishwasher, 4) used a fine strainer cuz I didn't have a seive, and 5) don't tell any health concious person how you made the sauce!! I served with a simple orzo recipe from this site and made that while making the sauce...excellent meal, but next time I'll go lighter with a side and have a salad. Get a babysitter, candles, and a a nice white wine with this and enjoy your night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My sister in law made this dish and it was the best halibut I have had the pleasure of eating. Fantastic, I can't wait to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Absolutely fantastic! I made this last night for my husband and father-in-law and they are still raving about it. It really is a lot easier to make than it may look at firt. Next time I will double the sauce recipe. Great company dish! Instantly made it into my husbands Top-5 list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wartmannsroth, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
It might be the fact that this was on the top 10 list of 'best recipes' on this site, but I was pretty disappointed and so were my friends. I'm further disappointed that nobody in town had halibut except the local Fresh market which charge 18 dollars a pound - it cost me about 70 dollars total to buy everything to make this dish for four people. The sauce did get a lot of positive comments, but considering how LONG it too to make, how many dishes and counters I got dirty making it, and how LITTLE the recipes actually yields in the end, I would suggest doubling the sauce recipe, at least. If you end up with leftovers, oh well - the sauce isn't expensive. The halibut itself - I don't know. I just wasn't impressed with the texture. I think I could have let it sear a bit longer in the pan and cook less in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
RATING THE SAUCE ONLY - as I nabbed it to compliment my chicken breasts topped with shrimp. :-) I'm not a big fish eater, but I do like shellfish. Anyway, I'm giving the sauce a 5 star rating, though next time I will further reduce the amount of lemon (I doubled the recipie but NOT the lemon) and will go even less next time, because the lemon makes it a little too "bright" for my taste. However, that said...as is, I would serve this sauce to company. It is marvelous and not at all hard to make. Time consuming...not particularly, not if you are multi tasking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States