Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
It was awesome. I couldn't get fillets so I used 6 oz chunks and browned them longer than 2-3 mins. Even my fish hating sister like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Wow! Just an excellent dish. The sauce definitely takes a little bit of time, but it is well worth it. If you like fish, you have to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this recipe for 2 people and doubled the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly and for me, the sauce was a bit too sour/acidic. I would cut down on the lemon in the sauce. I think the breadcrumbs could use a bit of seasoning before being mixed with the almonds. I think a little bit of garlic powder and more herbs would suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
what's left to be said?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Oh my gosh, this was wonderful. I used chopped macadamia nuts instead of almonds. With this substitution this dish was upscale restaurant quality and reminded us of one of our favorite dishes in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Wow! This is a great recipe! I doubled the buerre blanc recipe because it wouldn't be enough for four people as is; I also think half and half will work fine for the sauce because it's quite thick using heavy cream. I minced the shallots etc. for the buerre blanc and didn't strain it; I like it with some texture and colour. Make sure you watch the fish under the broiler as the topping will burn quickly. This would go very well with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this for my anniversary dinner tonight. We both thought it was delicious. I might only use half the amount of vinegar and lemon juice next time as the sauce was a little tart for my husband's taste. I loved it like it was, though. I was unable to find fresh halibut so had to use frozen fillets. They were only about 1/2" -3/4" thick but worked fine. I also tried this on a couple of tilapia fillets and it was good, but not as good as the halibut. Thanks for a fancy, memorable dinner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This fish was good, but I would not call it great. We also did not have enough sauce for it to make an impact on the taste. Fresh squeezed lemon was a must to give this fish some flavor. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Susan W, this recipe is divine; thank you to you & your future MIL! I've been wanting to make it for ages and finally got a beautiful halibut filet at Costco today that begged to be used for this! This was absolutely delicious but how could it not be with the butter and cream in it?! Definitely a company-worthy, fine meal. Served it with "Thyme Green Beans with Almonds" from this site, as well as steamed basmati rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Wow, absolutely fantastic. I doubled the sauce and made no other changes. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States