Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe! It is one of my very favorites on the site. You almost have to make it twice to get the timing down, as others have said.. timing is key! Every time my husband brings home fresh halibut from his fishing ventures, this is on the menu.. absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsgma

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is truly amazing, but only as long as it's fresh. Just don't refrigerate it: it is one of the best fish recipes out there as long as it's fresh, but once it's stored overnight, it's not good at all. A real shame, but it's not really a problem because there probably won't be any leftovers to save anyway (I made it for more people than I ended up serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
A symphony indeed! Every bite was heavenly. Even my kids who were skeptical at first oohed and aahed. The sauce makes the dish -- I tried not to think about the butter/fat content as it crossed my lips (then went straight to my hips). I didn't need to double the sauce because I only made three fillets instead of six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This lives up to it's name. It's pricier to get all the ingredients but it is like a bite of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was simply delicious. I added extra cream to the sauce so that there was plenty to drizzle over the halibut. The flavor was amazing and the almonds were such a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I went to my grocery store and they did not have halibut! So I used tilapia and I dont know if it wouldve made a difference if I would have used halibut.. this recipe was very good..however Im not sure it was good enough for the amt of calories it has. I, like others used fat free half and half in the sauce...and mine never really thickened up ( I dont know if it was supposed to).. plus the butter flavor stood out a lot to me..kinda tasted like melted butter with spice in it.. (which is basically what it is..)..I used 8 tbsp and that seemed like enough to me. However, the crumb/pecan topping was phenomenol.. i just dont know if I can get past that prevelent taste of butter in the sauce..I probably wont be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach8986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
the end product was fab. however, having never made a buerre blanc i could have used a little more detail. i prepped my ingredients as suggested. and i, like a reviewer below, used brummel butter as well as half & half. i also increased the almonds & lessened the breadcrumbs. oh, but it took waaaay longer than the times listed. the buerre blanc seemed to take forever(hence the four star rating). still, i will make it again cuz the taste was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammie
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I followed advice from other reviewers and set everything out in advance and did not think it was difficult at all. I substituted half and half for the cream and crushed macadamia nuts for the almonds. I made it last night and my husband is still raving about it this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I served this for company and everyone raved about it, but I thought the sauce was quite bland. The halibut tasted wonderful but the recipe had no effect on the fish flavor. I thought the almond topping was good, but I've had a pecan topping on salmon that was way better and easier (I will never blanch and mine nuts again). We had plenty of sauce for the 4 of us and I followed the recipe as stated. I doubt that I'll make this again due to the time it takes and the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Yummy!!! is the first word that came to mind when I tried it! I had my doubts about this, but it turned out so great, I wanted to eat the beurre blanc on its own. I doubled the sauce recipe and I didn't finish it, but next day I prepared with cooked chicken I had, and made sandwiches....you have no idea how good they came out, you should deffiently try it. Thanks a lot for 2 awsome recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States