Almond Crusted Chevre and Grape Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I've made these before....they're a bit tedious, but worth it! Make them way ahead of when you need them so you're not all stressed & in a hurry....or you'll be doing lots of cussing while you're rolling the cheese around the grape! I didn't use plastic wrap. I just put some of the cheese mixture into the palm of my hand and rolled it around with the palm of my opposite hand to make a little ball, then dropped them onto a pie plate that had the finely chopped nuts so I could get them coated with those. Wear gloves if you don't want you're hands messy! You can omit the chives if you'd like. I always used red grapes, the firmer the better and make sure they are VERY dry after you wash them or the cheese won't stick to the grape! I've used pistachios before and their greenish hue looked very pretty. Store them in the fridge until ready to serve! People are always super surprised when they bite into one of these if they don't know what they are. They'll create plenty of chatter at your next gathering & lots of recipe requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These were a very expensive appetizer that were also quite time-consuming. Combining both of those issues with the fact that they were not gobbled up by my house guests makes this a recipe that I will not be making again. Personally, I though they tasted fine, but they did not blow me away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I couldn't wait to try this recipe! I made these for two separate parties on the same weekend and everyone LOVED them! I didn't use the plastic wrap as suggested so fingers got a little messy but they were so worth every bit of the mess!! My husband and I love different types of wine and these paired with either red or white are absolutely delicious. Eating them right after they are refrigerated is best...biting into the truffle and finding the cold grape center.....YUM!!! The crunchiness of the toasted almonds compliments the smoothness of the cheeses and with the grape, the tastes and flavors burst in your mouth! I will be making these for a long, long time. I haven't tried the other suggestions in some of the reviews (different type of nuts, etc.) but I will try them next time! If you like goat cheese and wine....you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Messy as all get out to make- but delicious. I used pistachios instead of almonds. Very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I make these, but instead of port wine I use whatever red wine I have around and add some sugar to it. I also use the ends of green onions because I cannot get chives where I live. I also put the cheese mixture in the freezer before balling it around the grapes. Helps a lot - less mess. This is my favorite recipe to bring to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Amazing! Everyone loves these balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are quite tasty little balls of yum. However, they are vastly impractical, leading to my poor rating. I think I paid around $12-13 for all the ingredients for this recipe (and omitted the port because I am not buying a whole bottle for 2 tbsp), and only got 11 little truffles. Not to mention they are labor intensive and messy! I do like other reviewers ideas of making this into a cheese ball, however. And this is just an opinion - not to offend the foodies - but I really think this might be just as tasty with plain cream cheese. If you really want to try this one out, skip the $20/lb chevre and go for the Philly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a good and simple recipe for cocktail party snacks. The 1oz spring-loaded cookie scoop trick works like a charm! I thought the cheese mixture was a little mild. I'll probably ad some garlic or cayenne pepper the next time. I'm also thinking this would be a good model to use for a sweet bit, replacing the chevre with mascarpone, and adding a little confectioner's sugar, replacing the chives with chopped dried cranberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy and quick, though messy, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
So tasty! Nice presentation too! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calcutta, West Bengal , India
Living In: West Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States