Almond Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Oh yeah, oh yeah. The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. The second time was yummier because I used 2x the amount of chocolate and my Anoose thought it was wonderful. I had my pudgy hubbie hold the thermometer and pour the toffee into the pan. He thought the dessert was yum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mum-mee. Oh yeah, oh yeah. It's great for pudgy humbbies everywhere! (and sensitive Anooses) --Oh yeah, oh yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I made this the other night when some friends and relatives came over and everyone called me the next day for the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
FANTASTIC!! This was my first attempt at making candy and it was so easy. I brought it to a party and all my friends LOVED it!! I enjoyed it so much I made a second batch just for myself. Tip: I placed the roasted almonds on the jelly roll pan and poured the toffee over them, instead of mixing the almonds into the toffee. After I break it into pieces, I keep the candy in the fridge so the chocolate stays firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe. Grandchildren and co-workers alike had nothing but rave reviews. I opted to use the family favorite walnuts rather than almonds and did reduce the amount of chocolate chips. I plan to use this recipe for group gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
The ingredients sounded great so I gave it a try...It is sooo good! My family loves it, Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Great recipe you must try it on top of some vanilla ice cream... Thank you Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This was my first time ever making candy, and it was DELICIOUS!!!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and after the mixture started to boil, I turned down the heat one notch. It took a bit to get it to get to temperature(like 10 minutes or so), but I'm not sure how long it's supposed to take as I have never done this before. Tasted to me like a Heath Bar (chocolate covered english toffee) with almonds in it. I don't know what Almond Roca is so I couldn't tell you if it tasted like that or not. I also used only 1 1/2 cups of milk chocolate chips and that was enough. Overall, this was a VERY easy recipie for a first time candy maker. Having a candy thermometer was a must for me. I picked one up at Wegman's for $5.00. There not that expensive. (I didn't go digital though, those ran about $20.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is superb. A couple of suggestions: (1) Add 1 teaspoon of salt to the mixture at the beginning - it cuts down on the sweetness; (2) When the mixture comes to a boil, reduce the heat one notch from medium and stir occasionally - I've had no problem with a burned taste; (3) As others have said, buy a good candy thermometer - I purchased a digital candy thermometer from Williams Sonoma and love it; (4) Use a silicon spoon to stir the mixture - it wont stick to the spoon; (5) Put the jelly roll pan covered with aluminum foil or Release on one side of the stove, and turn on the buners to medium low. When the mixture is poured onto the hot pan, the pan stays hot and the mixture is easy to spread. Use the back of a large spoon sprayed with Pam to spread the mixture; (6)I've tried the almonds per the recipe, toasted walnuts, unsalted roasted peanuts and toasted pecans. My favorite is the toasted pecans. I use 1 1/2 cups of toasted pecans in the mixture, and sprinkle 1/2 cup toasted pecans on the top; (7) I've used milk chocolate, a mixture of milk chocolate with peanut butter chips (when I used the peanuts), semisweet chocolate and bittersweet chocolate. They all work well. It's a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Incredible! My husband loves it so much that he had me make gifts of it for 15 people at work for Christmas! The only thing I would change about the original recipe is to stir the mixture frequently after it boils. The first time I made it, I did not stir it after it began to boil...but it burned (my husband still ate the entire batch). I halved the amount of chocolate chips on top and the amount of chocolate was fine. I agree with another reviewer who suggested to put sliced almonds on top of the chocolate (and press down lightly with a spatula so they stick better). It made the presentation much prettier. Thank you - this recipe will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was my first attempt making candy and this recipe was easy to follow and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States