Almond Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Outstanding recipe!! I get GREAT reviews all the time and always requests for more! I make candy all the time, but ruined the first two attempts at this one. I found that the key is to slightly turn down (one notch as another reviewer suggested) the mixture once it does start to boil. I also leave the toasted pecans on the baking sheet and pour the mixture over it. After I spread out the chocolate, I sprinkle it with ground nuts (I always use pecans with this recipe). Rave reviews ever time!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Awesome! And really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
It really needs more than 5 stars!! I covered the cookie sheet with buttered foil, then I sprinkled a bit of ground almonds on that. Also I didn't have any milk chocolate chips so used Hershey bars. That worked well - after spreading the chocolate, I sprinkled a little ground almonds on top - yummy - made three batches for Christmas. Christmas night it was all gone. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
everyone who tried it loved it! They all wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This turned out excellent! Will be adding this to my annual Christmas baking list. Stored out in garage over the holidays to make it last longer...even better when just brought into the house--doesn't stick to your molars as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I used almonds and cashews. My father in law loved it. I made it for Chrsitmas and it was a hit. Use a candy thermometer.It helps. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wonderful and easy. I ended up making 3 batches this year. mother in law sd it was the best - her favorite yet. I just sprayed the pan VERY LIGHTLY with butter flavored cooking spray and no sticking. Make sure to put the chocolate chips on right away or they will seperate from the candy in the refrig. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I've made this recipe (3) times in the past week the results were interesting 1st time - wrong size pan, inaccurate candy thermometer and the plastic mixing spoon began to melt. 1st batch in the garbage. 2nd batch - awesome - 3rd batch - nuts not toasted long enough so it tasted gummy and when I poured the mixture in the lined pan it began to harden before I could spread it to the sides. When this recipes works the taste is fantastic - when it doesn't it really doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
was a hit! as noted in the other posts a couple key things: heat the pan you are going to pour the mixture into, it helps so you can create a more even thin coating since you have more time before it starts to harden (makes for a better crunch), we did double the nuts, and one last thing i wish i had used - a silicone spatula. the mixture is quite sticky and hard to spread. i used a cheap candy thermometer and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I'm new to candy making, and this was a very easy recipe to make! I personally wasn't happy with the taste, but everyone at the party loved it, and asked me for the recipe. I think it was the milk chocolate that I didn't like. I might try a different kind next time. Can anyone answer this question-I used unsalted butter. Is this right? The recipe doesn't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States