Almond Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I thought this recipe was super easy. I used twice the amount in slivered almonds and crumbled crushed almonds on the top of the chocolate. Unclear how big of a jelly roll pan to use, I used a bigger tray, and the bark was thin and VERY tasty, but the chocolate kept falling off (even after it sat in the freezer for hours). I made a second batch in a smaller jelly roll pan and the bark came out much thicker, and the chocolate stuck nicely, but it definitely did NOT taste as good as a thinner bark. So I wonder what the trick is to having the thinner bark but keeping the chocolate sticking to the bottom layer. Anyway, it was the yummiest thing I have made in a while, and all my friends were impressed because the texture SEEMS sophisticated but they never knew it was so easy. I surely recommend it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was the first time I attempted baking toffee and it was a HUGE hit! I bought a good candy thermometer and followed directions exactly! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Nanda Vadecha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I gave this away as gifts and everyone loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe was so easy with perfect results. Cooked to 190C over med/low flame, stirred once or twice, did not taste burnt at all. I live in Milan where corn syrup is impossible to find so I substituted honey. The "crunch" itself had an amazing consistency, barely, if at all does it stick in your teeth. Used the tips of parchment paper, poured cooked sugar over almonds onto a warmed tray & sprinkled crushed almonds on top (thanks to all tipsters) I'm giving it as Christmas gifts, can't wait to see what the Italians think, they don't sell candy like this where I live in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This is awesome! I made this to give as gifts this Christmas. It is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as written and it came out horrible! I wasted a lot of chocolate on this recipe- it went in the garbage. Cooked it until the candy thermometer read 300 degrees and I think that was too long- it tasted burnt. I would think there is a problem with my thermometer, but I used another toffee recipe that required cooking it to 285 degrees and that one came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made this candy for the first time. I used parchment paper instead of foil. Candy came right off the paper with no sticking.I took others advise & cook the mixture until it reached 275 instead of 300. The candy became chewy instead of crunchy. Next time I will follow recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I've made 5 batches, it always comes out perfect! Keep the jellyroll pan warm for easier spreading. I add more nuts on top so the chocolate doesn't melt on your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sewall Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe was easy and delicious. I did take others advice and go to 275 instead of 300 and added 1.5 cups of peanuts and 1 tsp vanilla. It turned out very good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Fantastic! I like thicker toffee so I used an 8x8 pan- great results. I also only take it to 275', because 300' seems to almost have a burnt taste. I use dark chocolate chips...yummm. I use the salted almonds in a can: toast as the recipes directs, then chop in the Cuisinart. I want to try putting some on top next time. Do use real butter. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States