Almond Crunch Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I swapped 1 cup of the rolled oats for 1 cup of natural puffed rice. I also toasted the coconut separately first too. I found that when blending the oil and honey, you really have to whisk it fairly briskly until it all comes together smoothly. Overall a great recipe, would not hurt to add dried fruit etc as well. I store it in the freezer and just get out a spoonful for breakfast. When it is all gone i will definitely be making some more!! I found that it was sweet enough already, didnt need any additional sugar. Mine didnt clump together at all really, but that may have been because i didnt let it cool down before stirring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was a great first try recipe. A good base. I found it a little boring, but now I know how easy and adaptable it is! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is one of the easier granola recipes I've made. Turned out beautifully. I added about a half cup of dried fruit (blueberries and cranberries) and used sweetened coconut, whole almonts, and a little salt to taste. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this as a "thank you" gift for the women who help out in my classroom. One recipe was the perfect size for four small gifts. After reading other reviews about it burning, I baked it at 300 degrees, stirring every ten minutes. It was perfect after 30 minutes. Quick and easy to make; I lined the baking tray with foil, and clean-up was a breeze. It smelled very floral from the honey while it was baking, so I was concerned the honey would be overpowering, but once it cooled it was fine. I added some dried cranberries while it was cooling, and I will probably try it again with some additional spices and dried fruit. It's definitely a good base recipe that can be adjusted to satisfy individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I thought that this was a fast and easy recipe but I prefered it when I added in raisins after cooking. I cooked this completely in the microwave so I eliminated the browning of the almonds. Watch this near the final cooking stage (7-8 minutes in) as it turns quickly, and make sure that you stir all the way to the bottom so that it browns more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Super yummy! I've made this a few times exactly as written and also subbed half the almonds for pecans once. I like it both ways and pretty much you could sub in nut. I chose this recipe because I pretty much like everything in it and I like that it doesn't have added sugar. I'm not a huge coconut fan and honestly found that it is more a filler than a major contributer to taste. I've also done both oven and microwaave methods and both work well. It's nice to be able to just pop it in the microwave and I think it tunrs out just as well. Just make sure to stir often. I didn't the first time and some in the middle ended up a little burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Broderick-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was very good! It burns quite easily, so be sure to keep a close eye on it towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
The recipe is great - I added 2 tsp of vanilla for some special flavor and substituted walnuts for half of the almonds. The cooking temp, however, is much too high. After 20 mins the granola started to burn. I'd recommend lowering the temp to 250.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was my first attempt at homemade granola, and it was a hit! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars was because I haven't quite mastered the "chunky" effect for my granola. I didn't realize how much more it would chunk together as it cooled, so I added additional honey/oil to help with the bunching. It was a little too sticky and I will be trying this again with no additional honey - just letting the granola cool! I had also taken the advice of some other reviewers and added raisins and brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexlangley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Good base recipe. I added about 3 T of brown sugar, some vanilla, and about 1/4 tsp of salt before baking. When it was done in the oven, I added some raisins and dried cranberries. I did have a problem with the baking time. It was WAY TOO LONG. I had mine in for about 17 minutes and I still questioned whether it was a little overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States