Almond Crescent Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
These were wonderful tasting rolls. They need to be baked in a deep muffin pan as they spill over. Make sure to place a cookie sheet under pan while baking. I used sliced toasted almonds instead of chopped - they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I love this recipe! The buns are flaky and taste like they are made from scratch. Every recipe I've tried from Eleanor Johnson has been first rate! Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I took these rolls to a ladies' brunch with 12 women in attendance. I didn't take any leftovers home with me! Even the aerobics instructor indulged after she heard the comments everyone was making. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
These tasted absolutely delicious. Do agree with Karen in CA - put a cookie sheet under the pan while cooking, also used sliced toasted almonds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Very good, they taste like they should be harder to prepare. Make extras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
These almond rolls are fantastic! I took them to a neighborhood coffee, and they were a huge hit. I didn't use the butter, nuts and almond extract as a filling, instead I spread Solo brand almond filling on each rectangle, and then rolled them up. Also, I sliced each rectangle into 6 rolls. (for a total of 24 rolls made) I would think slicing them into only 3 per roll would make them too big for me. I prefer a smaller roll since they are quite rich. Watch the baking time. By making them smaller, they took less time to bake. Make sure to turn the pans over RIGHT AWAY when taking them out of the oven. The brown sugar mixture hardens quickly if you don't and it will be difficult to get out them out of the pan. After they were baked, I sprinkled the sliced toasted almond on top of the glaze. They looked really pretty, and were so tasty! You will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Easy and great almond flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
THIS IS SUCH A WONDERFUL, QUICK AND EASY RECIPE!!! Great "no fail" recipe for children! I substituted uncooked apples (just one regular ole' deliscious for six buns) with a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg for the nuts on some buns and on the other buns I inserted milk chocolate chips. All three types are perfect! DEFINATELY USE A DRIP PAN! Great to take to brunches or for gifting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABAKERGIRL
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This was a really easy recipe. They leave a bit to be desired when they first come out of the oven. I actually melted a little more butter with brown sugar and brushed it on the tops then sprinkled almonds on the top then drizzled with confectioners' glaze. Everyone in the house loved them and wanted to eat them all right then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I used this filling inside individual crescent rolls. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States