Almond Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I took this cookie one step further and made a glaze for it (2 c.powdered sugar, 1 tbls. of butter, 1 1/2 tsp. pure almond extract and 2 1/2 tbls. of low fat french vanilla coffemate) I topped with chopped almonds. They are so good this way. I have also included a picture of the finished cookie. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Should be called almond shortbread.... After baking about 22 dozen cookies in two days I ended by trying this recipe. I didn't even want to see another cookie by this point! But the smell was lovely and the taste amazing. This is THE shortbread. There is none better. I did roll the dough into a log and after refrigerating for several hours I sliced into cookies. Much easier than rolling out and cutting with a cookie cutter. I also used about 1 1/2 tbsp of almond extract for a little bolder almond flavor. This is a super simple recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
These are a delicious cookie. I did add a bit more almond extract. My family loves the shortbread texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I did exactly as directions told me to. I put in fridge overnight. Why is it just crumbles and no dough? What holds it together? There is no way to drop that onto cookie sheet by spoonful. Was something liquid left out of ingredient list?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bolivar, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I got just under 6 dozen 3 inch cookies from this recipe. I also put in 3 tablespoons almond extract and they turned out delicious. But if you're like me and like your almond cookies strong you could easily put 5 tblspoons in no problem. Thats what Im doing next time. A toasted almond in the center is most decadent. I don't think it needs frosting at all as long as you really turn up the extract. I will make these again and Im not the biggest fan of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Mmmmm delicious almond cookies. I added the extra almond extract, and then while the butter and sugar were creaming, I poured in about a cup of sliced almonds. A sliver of toasted almond topped each one. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
quite tastey, just need to find a method to make them slightly softer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I love this cookie. I made some plan and they were so good. But I also top some with cream cheese. I mix 3 oz pack of cream cheese,1 teaspoon of almond extact,2 tablespoons of hafe,hafe and also 1/3 cup of powder sugar and I put this on the cookies when they came out of the oven and I also made some and put a orange juice glaves on top.I mix 2 tablespoons of orange juice and 1/3 cup of powder sugar, 1/3 teaspoon of lemon extract and I put this glaze on the cookies when they were warm, everybody love them!!!!!Thanks so much... Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Super easy recipe! Defintely needs more almond extract. Delicious right out of the oven : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I doubled the almond extract because I really like almond flavour and it tasted just like marzipan! Very much a shortbread cookie. My only issue was that as the butter melted the cookies spread out and blended in to one another. Next time I might try using muffin tins to help keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States