Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Ok... here are the secrets to making this recipe good. First, you have to toast the almonds. This brings out the flavor. Just toast them in the 350 oven for about 7 minutes, let them cool, and then grind them as instructed. I added more almonds as was recommended, but if you do I would cut back on the flour. Second, these cookies are basically pecan shortbread cookies, so like all shortbread cookies they should be rolled out, cut/stamped out, and then baked as instructed. The other reviews were right they dont spread, but neither do rolled out shortbread cookies. Third, I think that 400 degrees is too hot to bake these cookies. Mine were pale white on the top and dark brown on the bottom. They still taste great, but I think you will get a better browning by baking them at 350F. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
After reading the reviews, I altered mine. I used double the almonds (1 full cup ground). I used 2 teaspoons almond extract and 1/2 teaspoon hazelnut extract instead of amaretto (which I didn't have). The cookies are very tasty! NOTE: These cookies DO NOT SPREAD. Whatever shape they're in when you put them on the sheet is the shape they'll wind up in, so be sure it's an aesthetically pleasant shape! And that two inches apart is silly; I fit 24 cookies per sheet with great success. An excellent little cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I LOVE these cookies. They are a great little treat and if you love almonds you'll love their flavor. I made these for a Christmas party and they did not last past the first half hour. I didn't have amoretto so I used almond extract, approx 1 1/2 tsp (I just poured it in LOL) They do not spread but I liked this fact. I scooped the dough up with a teaspon then rolled it into balls I got about 18 on a small cookie sheet. Then I used sliced almonds and pressed them into the middle. These made little half dollar size cookies that are wonderful!!! I think next time I will try making it with Splenda for a low sugar version that even my diabetic brother in law can eat. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Following advice from others, I toasted the almonds - 3-4 min at 375F, doubled the almonds in the original recipe and cut the flour to 1 cup. I also added about 1/2 tsp cardamom for a little different flavor. I baked them at 375 for about 12 mins, though I might let them go a little longer next time. (I made the cookies larger so longer bake time needed - yield 18).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Very tasty cookies. I didn't have armaretto liquer so I used Kahlua instead. Turned out wonderfully. I also decorated with a raw blanched almond on top of each cookie. Makes wonderful presentation. Don't worry about not finding ground almond in the grocery store. I ground mine with a coffee grinder--very convenient and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe was extremely easy and quick. The cookies turn out very light on the top, but watch the bottom so that it doesn't burn. I doubled the amaretto and it added a bit more flavor, but they were good with just two tsp as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
They were delicious. I had to increase the batter because I wanted more cookies. I also used pure almond extract instead of Amaretto. I also dusted them with a sprinkle of powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture. They looked too boring as is. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly. I used my coffee bean grinder to grind my almonds, and used Amaretto as directed. They didn't spread at all, though I hadn't expected them to, since I had read other reviews. The first pan, I left in the shape of the spoon. The second pan, I flattened with a fork dipped in granulated sugar (like you would a peanut butter cookie). They aren't bad - but they are not what I was expecting - they don't have enough almond flavoring, though I wouldn't call them bland. I am going to try dipping some of them in chocolate. Also, I believe that the alcohol cooks out of them in the 400 degree oven, so I think they are fine for children. I am not sure if I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I used half whole white wheat flour and half unbleached flour, baked at 350 for 8 minutes, used amaretto, vanilla (1t), and almond extract (2t), toasted my almonds, and added extra sugar. Cookie was still not very sweet or flavorful. Not like the ones at Chinese restaurants, mmm. The thinner cookies tasted better, lighter, so making them thin is my suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent cookie, just sweet enough, not too hard, not too soft, just right! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States