Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly. I used my coffee bean grinder to grind my almonds, and used Amaretto as directed. They didn't spread at all, though I hadn't expected them to, since I had read other reviews. The first pan, I left in the shape of the spoon. The second pan, I flattened with a fork dipped in granulated sugar (like you would a peanut butter cookie). They aren't bad - but they are not what I was expecting - they don't have enough almond flavoring, though I wouldn't call them bland. I am going to try dipping some of them in chocolate. Also, I believe that the alcohol cooks out of them in the 400 degree oven, so I think they are fine for children. I am not sure if I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Doubled the amount of almonds, used raspberry vodka instead of the amaretto liqueur, added vanilla extract and dipped in hardening chocolate (after they were baked). Great cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Simple look, simple ingredients, good taste. Mine looked a bit rough on top, so I put chocolate glaze (bit of butter and semi-sweet chocolate), and it complements almond taste nicely. Will definitelly bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Quick recipe no expensive almond paste and great results loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
After reading the reviews, I altered mine. I used double the almonds (1 full cup ground). I used 2 teaspoons almond extract and 1/2 teaspoon hazelnut extract instead of amaretto (which I didn't have). The cookies are very tasty! NOTE: These cookies DO NOT SPREAD. Whatever shape they're in when you put them on the sheet is the shape they'll wind up in, so be sure it's an aesthetically pleasant shape! And that two inches apart is silly; I fit 24 cookies per sheet with great success. An excellent little cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
These cookies are absolutely the most divine I've ever baked. Yum.. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I added extra amaretto with a medicine dropper as someone else mentioned, but the flavor just wasn't as strong as I would have liked. They were good, but not as good as I was anticipating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This recipe was definitely easy and great texture, though maybe a little shy on almond flavor... so I took my sons medicine dropper and added a few drops of 'Disaronno Italian Liquer' (Amaretto) on each cookie - YUM! Everyone LOVED them. Please remember though that this must be 'Adults Only' cookies due to the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe was extremely easy and quick. The cookies turn out very light on the top, but watch the bottom so that it doesn't burn. I doubled the amaretto and it added a bit more flavor, but they were good with just two tsp as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Everyone raved about these! I must admit they are worth the time! They had a light flakey almond flavor. The outer layer was like pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States