Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent cookie, just sweet enough, not too hard, not too soft, just right! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I loved this too! What I did differently, was shape the cookies into half moon shaped- and baked at 350. I have tried similar cookies that were Iced. Therefore, I iced about a dozen with powdered sugar Icing that I made, and added a little Almond extract. I took the other dozen cookies and dredged in powdered sugar when they were warm. Yummy!! You can't eat just one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I LOVE these cookies. They are a great little treat and if you love almonds you'll love their flavor. I made these for a Christmas party and they did not last past the first half hour. I didn't have amoretto so I used almond extract, approx 1 1/2 tsp (I just poured it in LOL) They do not spread but I liked this fact. I scooped the dough up with a teaspon then rolled it into balls I got about 18 on a small cookie sheet. Then I used sliced almonds and pressed them into the middle. These made little half dollar size cookies that are wonderful!!! I think next time I will try making it with Splenda for a low sugar version that even my diabetic brother in law can eat. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These were very good and had a nice almond flavor. I made a few changes to make them more healthy, which in turn may have caused them to spread out when they were cooked. Instead of all-purpose flour, I used one cup of whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup of almond meal flour. Both of these can be found in health food stores. I didn't have any amaretto liqueur, so I used 3 teaspoons of almond extract. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the dough. After I put the scoop of dough on the cookie sheet, I then pressed a whole almond into the middle of it. Then I baked them at 350 degrees for 8 minutes until they got brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Ok... here are the secrets to making this recipe good. First, you have to toast the almonds. This brings out the flavor. Just toast them in the 350 oven for about 7 minutes, let them cool, and then grind them as instructed. I added more almonds as was recommended, but if you do I would cut back on the flour. Second, these cookies are basically pecan shortbread cookies, so like all shortbread cookies they should be rolled out, cut/stamped out, and then baked as instructed. The other reviews were right they dont spread, but neither do rolled out shortbread cookies. Third, I think that 400 degrees is too hot to bake these cookies. Mine were pale white on the top and dark brown on the bottom. They still taste great, but I think you will get a better browning by baking them at 350F. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
FAST EASY AND TASTE GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly. I used my coffee bean grinder to grind my almonds, and used Amaretto as directed. They didn't spread at all, though I hadn't expected them to, since I had read other reviews. The first pan, I left in the shape of the spoon. The second pan, I flattened with a fork dipped in granulated sugar (like you would a peanut butter cookie). They aren't bad - but they are not what I was expecting - they don't have enough almond flavoring, though I wouldn't call them bland. I am going to try dipping some of them in chocolate. Also, I believe that the alcohol cooks out of them in the 400 degree oven, so I think they are fine for children. I am not sure if I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Doubled the amount of almonds, used raspberry vodka instead of the amaretto liqueur, added vanilla extract and dipped in hardening chocolate (after they were baked). Great cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Simple look, simple ingredients, good taste. Mine looked a bit rough on top, so I put chocolate glaze (bit of butter and semi-sweet chocolate), and it complements almond taste nicely. Will definitelly bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Quick recipe no expensive almond paste and great results loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States