Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I used half whole white wheat flour and half unbleached flour, baked at 350 for 8 minutes, used amaretto, vanilla (1t), and almond extract (2t), toasted my almonds, and added extra sugar. Cookie was still not very sweet or flavorful. Not like the ones at Chinese restaurants, mmm. The thinner cookies tasted better, lighter, so making them thin is my suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laughoutllama
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I used almond extract instead of amaretto, and it was too strong in the cookies. They were still pretty good, next time I'll use amaretto or less extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
They were delicious. I had to increase the batter because I wanted more cookies. I also used pure almond extract instead of Amaretto. I also dusted them with a sprinkle of powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture. They looked too boring as is. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent cookie, just sweet enough, not too hard, not too soft, just right! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I loved this too! What I did differently, was shape the cookies into half moon shaped- and baked at 350. I have tried similar cookies that were Iced. Therefore, I iced about a dozen with powdered sugar Icing that I made, and added a little Almond extract. I took the other dozen cookies and dredged in powdered sugar when they were warm. Yummy!! You can't eat just one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I LOVE these cookies. They are a great little treat and if you love almonds you'll love their flavor. I made these for a Christmas party and they did not last past the first half hour. I didn't have amoretto so I used almond extract, approx 1 1/2 tsp (I just poured it in LOL) They do not spread but I liked this fact. I scooped the dough up with a teaspon then rolled it into balls I got about 18 on a small cookie sheet. Then I used sliced almonds and pressed them into the middle. These made little half dollar size cookies that are wonderful!!! I think next time I will try making it with Splenda for a low sugar version that even my diabetic brother in law can eat. Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These were very good and had a nice almond flavor. I made a few changes to make them more healthy, which in turn may have caused them to spread out when they were cooked. Instead of all-purpose flour, I used one cup of whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup of almond meal flour. Both of these can be found in health food stores. I didn't have any amaretto liqueur, so I used 3 teaspoons of almond extract. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the dough. After I put the scoop of dough on the cookie sheet, I then pressed a whole almond into the middle of it. Then I baked them at 350 degrees for 8 minutes until they got brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Ok... here are the secrets to making this recipe good. First, you have to toast the almonds. This brings out the flavor. Just toast them in the 350 oven for about 7 minutes, let them cool, and then grind them as instructed. I added more almonds as was recommended, but if you do I would cut back on the flour. Second, these cookies are basically pecan shortbread cookies, so like all shortbread cookies they should be rolled out, cut/stamped out, and then baked as instructed. The other reviews were right they dont spread, but neither do rolled out shortbread cookies. Third, I think that 400 degrees is too hot to bake these cookies. Mine were pale white on the top and dark brown on the bottom. They still taste great, but I think you will get a better browning by baking them at 350F. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
FAST EASY AND TASTE GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly. I used my coffee bean grinder to grind my almonds, and used Amaretto as directed. They didn't spread at all, though I hadn't expected them to, since I had read other reviews. The first pan, I left in the shape of the spoon. The second pan, I flattened with a fork dipped in granulated sugar (like you would a peanut butter cookie). They aren't bad - but they are not what I was expecting - they don't have enough almond flavoring, though I wouldn't call them bland. I am going to try dipping some of them in chocolate. Also, I believe that the alcohol cooks out of them in the 400 degree oven, so I think they are fine for children. I am not sure if I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States