Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I also had to lower the temperature to get these to cook through without burning the bottoms. Toasted the almonds to bring out the flavor better. Recipe has too much flour so cookies are dry. I started with the Ammeretto but after tasting added an additional teaspoon of Almond extract and the flavor still wasn't quite strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
ok, didn't look like the picture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Not enough almond flavor. I made a 2nd batch and replaced the amaretto with 1/4 tsp. almond extract. I also didn't find the dough thin enough to cook through at that temperature and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Following advice from others, I toasted the almonds - 3-4 min at 375F, doubled the almonds in the original recipe and cut the flour to 1 cup. I also added about 1/2 tsp cardamom for a little different flavor. I baked them at 375 for about 12 mins, though I might let them go a little longer next time. (I made the cookies larger so longer bake time needed - yield 18).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Really good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
they tasted a little oily and they didn't have a great texture. Extra points for good aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I used half whole white wheat flour and half unbleached flour, baked at 350 for 8 minutes, used amaretto, vanilla (1t), and almond extract (2t), toasted my almonds, and added extra sugar. Cookie was still not very sweet or flavorful. Not like the ones at Chinese restaurants, mmm. The thinner cookies tasted better, lighter, so making them thin is my suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laughoutllama
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I used almond extract instead of amaretto, and it was too strong in the cookies. They were still pretty good, next time I'll use amaretto or less extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
They were delicious. I had to increase the batter because I wanted more cookies. I also used pure almond extract instead of Amaretto. I also dusted them with a sprinkle of powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture. They looked too boring as is. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent cookie, just sweet enough, not too hard, not too soft, just right! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States