Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very crumbly but tasty. I added 1/8 tsp more vanilla, 1/4 tsp almond ex, and a pinch of salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The recipe turned out pretty well, but I would recommend adding cinnamon and vanilla extract to bring out the natural nutty, bittery-sweet taste. All in all, loved the cookies! I used a sugar substitute to cut down on calories, which made the cookies a bit sweeter than I expected, but the addition of cinnamon really came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_lovesherFood

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I also tweaked the recipe according to other reviewers. 3 tsp almond extract, 3/4 cup almond meal, and 1 cup flour. I found that refrigerating the dough and then making little balls helped make these cookies prettier. I finished them off with powdered sugar and shared them as holiday cookies. My young kids loved these. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I am generally not a big fan of cookies, but these were great!! I took the advice of some of the other reviews and increased the ground almonds to 3/4 cup and decreased the flour to 1 cup. I used pure almond extract and I think next time I will increase that to 3 teaspoons. I made these cookies 3 days ago and they are all gone, so I will be making more today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter but they just didn't taste right. I didn't like these cookies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mallett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great cookie--double the recipe they disappeared way too fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
If you are having a case of "i need a sweet treat" these cookies ARE NOT for you. I liked how these cookies weren't very sweet, but you are obviously wanting a sweet treat if you are baking cookies. You could try adding more sugar to the recipe if you'd like.I made these cookies with my sister. We baked the first half of the dough and the cookies came out raw in the center after 8 minutes of baking in a preheated 400 degree oven just like the recipe says. The dough was extremely sticky so we ended up having to add more flour to the second half of the dough before we baked it. We switched the amaretto liqueur for pure almond extract which gives a better flavor. My suggestion would be to just add 1 teaspoon of almond extract if you want to use it instead of the amaretto.After we tried baking the second half of the dough although the the cookies were throughly baked they were too chewy in the center. CAUTION: the cookies stay in the same form you put them on the baking sheet. The first time around i just dabbed them on the cookie sheet and they stayed in the same shape after they were ready. The second time around i had to flour my hands and form the dough into balls then i gently flattened them out with the backside of a spoon.Overall they were decent but i would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I followed some of the reivews and changed the recipe accordingly: substituted 2 t amaretto with 2 t almond extract used 1 C ground almonds toasted almonds before grinding baked cookies at 350 for ~8 min I couldn't find ground almonds in the store, and I don't have a coffee grinder (more of a tea drinker), so I used a mini food processor on the dull blade setting to grind the almonds after toasting. The almonds came out as kind of a crumb size- not extremely fine like flour. Perhaps for this reason I was not able to roll out the dough and shape the cookies as others have described. I had to use the full amount of flour in the original recipe and scooped the dough into balls on the baking pan. The batter was too sticky to roll, and the cookies ended up being chewy and not crunchy. Added some un-toasted almond slices to the tops of the cookies before baking. Perhaps next time I would add another 1/2 t or so of almond extract. I didn't mind having my cookies turn out softer and not cookie-cutter shaped, but for those who can't grind their almonds down to a fine powder, you might be faced with the same scenario. Still tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ManoO
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great tasting recipe and very easy to follow as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
great cookies instead of regular almonds I used honey roasted sliced almonds. Also made the with amaretto buttercream frosting. MMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States