Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These are the perfect cookies to impress! Excellent flavor and really pretty. I toasted my sliced almonds before grinding them in the food processor. I used 2 tsp. of almond extract as a substitute for the liqueur. I placed some of the toasted almond slices on top before baking. Couldn't be happier with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Super easy to make and very delicious! My only qualm with this recipe is that it says "yields 4 dozen" - it does not. It does not even come close. I get about 30 cookies from this batch and I use a measured teaspoon scooper for each cookie. I also have to admit, I never tried the original recipe, just automatically made the adjustment that many have already made in their reviews - that is - 1 cup crushed almonds, and 1 cup flour. (The second batch I made I used a little less than 1 cup of flour with the 1 cup of almonds, and I think those were even better.) Also, I baked at 375 for about 11 mins. I'd definitely suggest waiting til you see color towards the bottom of the cookie, otherwise it will taste very doughy. Still pretty good, but not as perfect as when the bottom is a bit toasted. Basically - you will love these, and if you manage to make them and mess it up - I'd be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These are wonderful and light. They are the sophisticated version of a very heavy cookie we ate when I was a child, Norwegian crowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alaska
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Simple yet delicious! I followed others reviews and used 3/4 cup almond meal and 1 cup of flour. Also added an easy glaze made from powdered sugar and almond extract. Cookies do need to be very small to get 24 out of the batch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Almost perfect dough... However it was a bit too loose for my taste. I had to add a few extra hearty dashes of flour for me to roll them without them being soooo gooey. Also I'm an adventurous baker... I omitted the amaretto mostly cuz we didn't have any. Added vanilla extract, rolled them all in cocout (they didn't need an egg wash cuz they were still pretty sticky) and made half of them coconut vanilla almond raspberry thumbprints by thumbing a shallow hole in the middle of each cookie and adding a half tsp of raspberry preserves inside! YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I really was craving a delicious almond cookie. I followed all the directions from the reviewers to achieve that end. I increased the almond meal, I increased the amaretto, I toasted the almonds, I put a whole blanched almond in the middle of each cookie. I decreased the heat a bit. But you know what? mediocre. Yes, I will eat them, but would not make them again. I want a scrumptious almond cookie!!! Boo hoo....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORTGAGEBABE
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used blanched almond flour, I toasted them and used 1 cup, I cut back the flour to 1/2 cup and used vanilla instead of amaretto. I too reduced the heat to 350 F and baked for 10-12 mins. They were perfect!! I topped them with a single almond each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORTGAGEBABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I baked the almonds, added an extra tsp of amaretto and baked at 375. How could everyone give this a great review? they are bland as all get out. Don't bother wasting your time on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Not what I expected. I used almond extract instead of amaretto and I did not like the flavor it added to the cookies. To me, it didn't taste like almonds at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These cookies are amazing!!! I didn't have any amaretto liqueur so I used almond extract instead. I added 1/2 cup of canola oil instead of butter and they came out crumbly and delicious! As one reviewer suggested I toasted the almonds before grinding them. I increased almonds to 3/4 of a cup and decreased flour to 1 cup. I flattened the cookies slightly with a fork before baking. They baked great at 350 for 15 min. I think next time I will try adding mini chocolate chips. Chocolate and almonds, you can't go wrong with that combination. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States