Almond Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very simple cookie recipe! I substituted liquor for almond extract and they tasted pretty good. I like this recipe because it was very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is the first time I am making cookies and I am new to baking. My cookies tasted great. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup xylitol because my son is on a sugar restricted diet. Even then it was a bit too sweet for me. But my son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great simple, quick recipe! I did not have any amaretto on hand so I did 2 tsp's of vanilla and I added choc chips to some of the cookies! I did a pinch of baking powder as well and I flattened the cookie with a fork before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made some changes based on other reviews, and these cookies were awesome. I toasted about 4 ounces of sliced almonds then ground them in my food processor which gave me about 1 cup of ground almonds. I also decreased the flour to 1 cup. I used a small scoop to portion out the dough which gave me 24 cookies then flattened them with the bottom of a glass dipped in white sugar. I then sprinkled them with sliced almonds which I pressed down lightly. My cookies did spread a little so definitely space them out at least an inch apart. They came out perfectly with just enough sweetness and a little chewiness. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
this was just what I was looking for! almond-y, just the right amount of sweetness, soft, but not chewy, not crumbly but still buttery rich! I used almond extract instead of amaretto and formed cookies on sheet. I made some about 1 1/2 in diameter and some just larger than a quarter- true silver dollar for my 3 year year old. I used Trader Joe's almond meal to make my life easier- and cause i had it on hand. new family fave- and they were so quick to make. Oh & i baked at 400 for about 6-7 minutes, delish! FYI-These are not the Chinese almond cookies- those ones are usually made with lard and a LOT more sugar,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Lehman
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
My husband and I loved these cookies. I used 1 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 3/4 cup ground almonds and 3 Tbsp of Chocolate Amaretto Liqueur (that's what I had). And as others suggested I rolled dough into balls sprinkled tops with a bit of sugar and pressed with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I love almonds, so this was perfect for me. When they first came out of the oven, I was a bit disappointed because I thought they were too bland. After they cooled for a while, though, the flavor really came out. I brought these to a potluck, and everyone seemed to love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica_2008

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this recipe to the note but added a teaspoon of almond extract. The cookies were good, but very light in flavor. For the second batch, I added more almond extract, more amaretto, and more nuts. Instead of grinding the second batch of nuts, I just threw in some almond slivers to give the cookie some crunch. Even with the additions, the second batch was still pretty bland. It's a nice tea cookie with a lovely texture, I just wish it had more almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I wanted a nice almond cookie and that's what this recipe gave me. Not too sweet, which I like. Other reviews are correct - these don't spread (and I'm glad). I would have given this a higher rating, but the yield on the recipe is totally incorrect. You don't get anywhere near 4 dozen! I got a a few cookies over 2 dozen. Don't shy away from this recipe if you don't have the amaretto - I used vanilla and they came out great. I toasted the almonds and increased to 1 full cup. I did NOT cut back on flour as other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Buns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These are the perfect cookies to impress! Excellent flavor and really pretty. I toasted my sliced almonds before grinding them in the food processor. I used 2 tsp. of almond extract as a substitute for the liqueur. I placed some of the toasted almond slices on top before baking. Couldn't be happier with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States